Day 168: Make a Set of Glittered Owl Rings

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“We have to try inner disarmament—reducing our own anger and hatred while increasing mutual trust and human affection.”

To disarm ourselves, makes me think of anger and hatred as weapons. And so perhaps the Dalai Lama sees it that way as well. I have a problem with this one. Perhaps we all do. Anger is something that is almost comforting to hold on to, especially when you hold on to it for years. The longer you hold on to anger, the harder it is to get rid of it, the more it bonds with you, and clings to your soul and eats at your happiness.

Shit happens to everyone. It’s normal to be angry. It’s normal to be frustrated and pissed off. But what do we do, once we feel these feelings? EXPRESS them. How do you best express your emotions? Is it through your art, your knitting, your writing?

For me, it’s my writing. I whip out my journal and write poetry. Living a creative life is true living. So express what you feel through your art, and let it go. Then in this way, we are doing what the Dalai Lama states-disarming ourselves of anger and hatred.

Today I made something very fun and very close to my heart. You all know that I am obsessed with owls. I recently got a shipment of bezel rings, and decided that I wanted to get crafty.

For this project, you’ll need:

A bezel ring

Glitter

minature owl findings (find it on etsy)

Judikins Diamond Glaze

Glue

So, all you do, is apply the glitter inside the bezel with glue of course. I made three rings each with different kinds of glitter.

Wait for it to dry, and then you apply the little owl with some glue. It might not stay all the way, that’s okay. I put my rings to dry in my library. Plato helped dry the glaze on these rings.

I then added some of the Diamond glaze, because that really made the owl stick. So that’s what I did. Let it dry, and add a second coat.

That’s it!

It’s quick, easy, and fun.

The Craftaholic


