Day 165: Make A Pair of Collaged Gift Tags

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“As human beings we all want to be happy and free from misery… we have learned that the key to happiness is inner peace. The greatest obstacles to inner peace are disturbing emotions such as anger, attachment, fear and suspicion, while love and compassion and a sense of universal responsibility are the sources of peace and happiness.”

Why, oh why do we allow ourselves to be sucked in my the madness? We long for peace. Don’t we? We long to be free from fear and anger. But what is it that causes us to be angry? Is it really the situation you’re in, or is it your expectations? Your expectations are at a certain level. Think about it: you EXPECT a friend to call you back; you EXPECT you infant to sleep through the night, you EXPECT your mother to apologize for the wrong she did; you EXPECT a friend to act a certain way. EXPECTATIONS are what let you down, not people or situations.

I just think that if you remove the expectations from situations or people, then perhaps you will not be let down quite as often. I don’t mean that you should just date a loser, and go a crappy doctor. I just mean that if you don’t EXPECT a person to live UP TO YOUR EXPECTATIONS, then you will see the world around you changes.

Me? I don’t expect a “friend” to be one way or the other. I don’t expect someone to live up to my standards. I know that everyone has their own standards for living, and their own standards for friendship. Here in New York, it seems like everyone looks for a copy of themselves. But not me. I don’t really look anymore. I’m grateful for what I DO have. I’d rather look at what I do have, rather than look around at all the things I could have, or should have been.

Live your life today, not yesterday or tomorrow. To illustrate my point, I’ll quote some lyrics from a Paul Simon tune (Slip Sliding Away):

“I know a woman
Became a wife
These are the very words she uses
To describe her life
She said a good day
Ain’t got no rain
She said a bad day’s when I lie in bed
And think of things that might have been”

I guess that’s why he entitled the song, “Slip Sliding Away”. Right?

Today, I made some very cool gift tags. I used a scallop circle die cut thingie with my bigshot.

I used:

Various Catherine Moore Stamps

French Script Background stamp, by Stampin Up

Brown Distress ink by Tim Holtz (by Ranger), along the edges

Brown, Green, Red and Blue Ink pads, by Stampin Up

Brown Kraft Paper by PaperTrey Ink

The little typewriter letter stickers are of course, to remain nameless, since I for the life of me cannot recall who makes them. Also, the music sheet background stamp is another beautiful stamp that does not have the maker’s name on it. I bought this one when I first started working with paper. So sorry about this, but I can’t remember who makes it.

So, what do you think?

You like them?

The Craftaholic

