Day 163: An Origami Bird Garland

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Open your arms to change, but don’t let go of your values.”

When we think of change, we think that it means we must completely let go of the things our parents taught us, the things that are a part of who we are. This is what makes us afraid of change. We think it means letting go of who we are.

Change doesn’t mean becoming another person. It doesn’t mean forgetting or letting go of the things that matter to you. Change can be evolutionary; revolutionary. It can be. Or, it can be negative, of course. It all depends on where you take it to.

I choose to think of change as a positive thing, as a catalyst for all the things that are to be in my life. I choose to think of myself changing, evolving and growing. The theory of evolution is one that says that a monkey EVOLVED into a man, over a course of time. Now, whether or not you subscribe to this theory doesn’t matter. Just think about it. Evolution is basically that. You evolving from the ape that life made you, into the creature of beauty that you are meant to be. But you will always be you.

Today’s crafty endeavor, is an origami bird garland! I’ve recently gotten into origami. I have a swap coming up, for a bird garland. So I chose to make mine out of origami. Cool right? I made a simple origami bird, with Amy Butler paper, because that seems to be the closest to what this person likes.

At first, I didn’t think I could do it without Origami paper, but I realized that I had bought some paper from etsy, that was cut into the perfect origami square. So that’s what I used.

I hope she likes origami.

What do you think?

Also, I made another book, and of course with that, another giveaway.

Do you like this journal? Leave a comment here, to win it!

Also, if you like my journals from afar, I will soon be offering them in varied sizes.

Nice, right?

Oh! And now, to announce the winner of last week’s giveaway!

The winner is….*drumroll*……

Marylove!

Congrats! I’ll be emailing you tonite for your particulars!

If you want to know, I litterally wrote down all your names, and drew hers out of a hat. But, if you still want to win a journal, comment here to win the aforementioned woodland bird themed journal.

Oh! And here’s some origami info, if you’re interested:

http://www.origami-usa.org/diagrams

http://folds.net/tutorial/index.html

I wouldn’t bother with kits, not if you can get the info for free. You know?

The Craftaholic

My eco friendly hand bound books!

