Day 157: Make A Talisman Bracelet

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“If one’s life is simple, contentment has to come. Simplicity is extremely important for happiness. Having few desires, feeling satisfied with what you have, is very vital: satisfaction with just enough food, clothing, and shelter to protect yourself from the elements. And finally, there is an intense delight in abandoning faulty states of mind and in cultivating helpful ones in meditation.”

Simplicity. Right?

What does this mean, really? It means, let’s put things into perspective. Let’s look at it for a minute. Look at your life with an attitude of gratitude. Notice the good things in your life. Think twice before you buy name brands. Be simple. Remember, you can’t take it with you when you die. It’s a morbid thing to think about, but it’s true.

Today, I have TWO crafty endeavors for today. One is a quick valentine thingamajig that you can easily make. It’s cheap and quick.

It’s a lovely set of altered candles! It’s easy. Just wrap the tissue around a plain white candle, and then whip out your heat gun, and apply heat to the candle. The heat will melt the tissue into the candle. Cool, right?

It’s easy. And the candles look so “designer”! Right?

Another thing I made is a very cool talisman bracelet. I love talismans. I’m quite the superstitious person, actually.

It’s a charm bracelet. I bought the bracelet at the dollar spot in target. I actually had to make it longer, with another one I had. I then weaved in some silk sari yarn that I had in my yarn stash. I weaved it in three times, back and forth.

Then, I just added the charms. These are from Blue Moon’s “Token” line. This is cool talisman bracelet. The colors intertwined of red and purple and orange, strengthen the meaning of the bracelet.

Red, for strength and health

Purple for power, wisdom, healing and protection

Orange for encouragement, adaptability, stimulation, attraction, kindness, plenty

Then the symbols are cool too. The Ankh represents eternal life.

The Buddha represents enlightenment and good luck.

The tree, for stability and growth.

Then, the other symbol for the life of me, I cannot remember the name of it. Anyone know what it is?

Anyhow, it’s easy to make talisman jewelry. A talisman, is just sort of a lucky charm. Anything can be a good luck charm, so long as you empower it.

Like it?

It’s snowing here in Brooklyn, NY. Want to see what it looks like at 7:30 in the morning?

Pretty, huh? I’m just glad that I’m not going anywhere today. Lentil Soup and Linzer cookies will be made today, I think.

The Craftaholic

