Day 153: Make a Stenciled Set of Cards

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“No material object, however beautiful or valuable, can make us feel loved…”

How true this is! This is why hoarders never stop hoarding: because the feeling that material things give you, is only momentary. It’s not a permanent thing. Nothing of this material world is permanent. That is why we become addicted to things. It’s because the feeling that something gives you goes away. So instead of dealing with the world as it is, we create our own illusions in the form of addiction.

I hate being addicted. I also do not like being high or drunk.  I hate the feeling of not being in control of my own body. But that’s just me. Addictions though, can come in many forms.

I can’t tell you how to overcome an addiction. I can tell you though, that the most important thing in overcoming any addiction, is looking at the world as it is. You cannot change the world. You can only change the way you respond to it.

What do I do? I take all the fury, all the issues, all the anger, all the sadness from the past, and I turn it to my art. In this way, I heal myself, and I release.

Today, I made a really cool set of cards.

While I was at Dick Blick, I saw this cool set of stencils, by a company called Stencil1. So I bought them. They cost me $20! Maybe I’m cheap, but I almost left them there. I bought them anyway though, and it’s a good thing I did. These things are so worth the money!

I made a little set of cards, with my stencils. So cool, right?

There’s a microphone, a boom box, a turn table, and even a luchador mask. Even my husband, the glitter hater, approves of this Glittered Luchador.

Cool, right?

I am also excited because I found my Crafty Chica Fabric markers, so I want to use them to make something fun for my daughter to wear!

This is a simple project, but it was so much fun!

Tomorrow, I’ll be posting a simple and easy pattern for a fun little knitted purse! So easy, you’ll kick yourself for not making it up yourself.

The Craftaholic

