Day 152: Make a Memory Portfolio

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Indulgence in resentment and vengeance will only further increase miseries to oneself and others in this life and in lives to come.”

So this is interesting. This is exactly what I was talking about a few days ago. Remember? Misery, and focusing on your misery, only creates more in your life.

Focus on the positive things in your life. Focus on the things you can control and change, and make those things better. Don’t focus on what someone else said or did to hurt you, or exclude you. Strife is everywhere. Even in an art group. I used to think this was not possible. I thought that artists and craft groups where without cattiness. But we are all human, and we all err.

So it is important for us each to focus on ourselves, and improving our life. Focus on compassion for others. Stop focusing your own selfish needs, and just spread love and peace to others. In this way, we can improve our own lives, and bring peace to our life.

Today’s crafty endeavor is a portfolio! I was quite inspired by the Seven Gypsies Portfolio, and wanted to make one for myself.

I started with a plain folder with pockets. Mine was a stampin up folder, because I used to be a stampin up demo, although truth be told, I did it all for the discount.

So the first thing I did, was cover the folder with scrapbook paper. I chose a nature theme for this project.

It took two sheets to cover the front, and it left a nice flap on the side. So I left it that way, because it adds to the portfolio.

Now, you cover the inside of the folder, and both sides of the flap. I should add that I cut the pockets of the folder, to make little flaps instead of pockets. Now, all you have left to do, is embellish, and fill up the porfolio with letters, pictures, and things that are meaningful to you.

This page has a handmade card someone made for me for my birthday. It also has a love letter my husband wrote to me, that I kept,  and a bookmark I made. Also, there is a little accordion folder with my postage paper art.

Inside the lovely handmade card, I covered the sentiment with a picture of my husband and I, from back when we were dating. The glittered heart is covering up some glue that almost fucked up my picture (sorry for the potty mouth).

This is the other page.

This envelope is hand cut. In it, I stored pictures from my daughter’s ultra sound.

See?

Here’s what it all looks like:

You like?

Here’s the cover. I punched a hole on the side, and got some cute ribbon and a button, to close the folder.

