Day 142: A Book Review: Handmade Decorative Books by Sue Roddis

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Happiness is not something ready made. It comes from your own actions.

I learned this truly, today. We cannot blame the state of our life on anyone but ourselves. Someone I know is this way. Well, lots of people are like this:  miserable, unhappy people that blame the world for the state of their life.

It’s sad to see someone’s life go by simply because they choose to surround themselves with unhappiness and misery. Why would you want that in life?

If you want happiness in your life, then create it. If you want to be loved, then love others. Love yourself. Create the actions and emotions you want around you. If you don’t, the universe will create them for you.

Today’s crafty endeavor is a book review.

Many of you know that I LOVE book making. So I was thrilled by the book “Handmade Decorative Books” by Sue Roddis.  A lot of craft books that I buy (and I’ve bought A LOT) have left me high and dry, wanting more, and not being thrilled at all. But this is not so with this particular book.

Sue Roddis has a very cool variety of handmade books. With each tutorial, she also features two other ways to make the same project! That is cool. And there are so many pictures. The pictures alone are enough for me to figure out how to make something. I absolutely hate when craft books contain a lot of text and not enough pictures. Those of us with craft ADD don’t have the patience to read through fancy words. We just want to see pics, so we can figure it out! Right?

Anyway, I love this book. I want to make everything in it! This book has been out since September of 2009. How am I just hearing about it? It certainly is NOT in my local Barnes and Noble bookstore.  I am so happy with it. Sue Roddis is so talented and an amazing artist. She has a blog here. I warn you some of my future works will probably be suspiciously influenced by her unique style. Few paper artists actually affect me as her style and blog has.

The Craftaholic

Visit my Handmade Boutique

