Day 140: Make Some Recycled Crayon Hearts

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Each of us in our own way can try to spread compassion into people’s hearts. Western civilizations these days place great importance on filling the human “brain” with knowledge, but no one seems to care about filling the human “heart” with compassion.”

Spread compassion. So much of our energy is spend learning about the science of life, instead of learning about the spirit of it.

Really, this is such a short life that we live on this planet. We grow, we educate ourselves, get married, have children…it becomes a blur. It’s true what a church lady told me once: “once you have a birthday, they start coming closer and closer together”. It sounds so funny, but it’s true. This is such a short life we live. So let’s do something for others. Let’s try to think of others a bit more.

Try practicing more compassion. Do something for others. Donate your time, or your creative talent. Donate items you’ve made. Help each other. No labels, or promise of religious preachings; just pure compassion. That’s what the Buddha and Jesus have in common. Help, with NOTHING in return.

So today’s creative endeavor is quick and easy, because I try to spend the weekend with the family.

If your kid is anything like mine, then you’ve got some broken or naked crayons laying around the house. If not, just buy some at the dollar store, and strip them naked.

For this craft, you’ll need a microwave and a plastic candy mold. I don’t own a microwave, but I used my mother in law’s, since she lives so close by.

You just break up the crayons, making sure that you put the similar colors together, in each mold. I put q tips to block the crayons from going into the stick part of the mold. But whatever. You don’t have to.

Then, you just nuke it. For me, it took about fifteen minutes. It could take you less, depending your microwave.

Cool, eh? I also added a little Pearl Ex Powder, because one can never have enough glitter and shimmer. Right?

The Craftaholic

Visit my Handmade Boutique!

After that, I just stuck in the freezer. That is it. I used heart shaped lollipop molds. These little crayons are for my daughter. They came out so well, I think I want to make her more. So cute, eh?

