Day 138: Make “The New Yorker” Cowl

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“We must all live harmoniously with our neighbors.”

What does this mean? This means we need to not pick at each other.

Living in harmony. It’s defined in the dictionary as follows:

–noun, plural -nies.

1. agreement; accord; harmonious relations.
2. a consistent, orderly, or pleasing arrangement of parts; congruity.
3. Music.

a. any simultaneous combination of tones.
b. the simultaneous combination of tones, esp. when blended into chords pleasing to the ear; chordal structure, as distinguished from melody and rhythm.
c. the science of the structure, relations, and practical combination of chords.

So that’s interesting. It reminds me of music. Living in harmony means we bring out the best in one another, not pick at each other, or try to tell each other what to do, or hate each other.

We tend to look at our differences a bit too much. Our differences are what make us live out of peace and out of harmony’s way with one another. We must live in peace. How do we do this? Compromise. Compromise. Compromise. We must put down our shallow egos that insist on being right all the time. Let’s be like the guitar and the bass, and make beautiful music together. The analogy is quite corny, but it’s true. Listen to your favorite song, and see how everything goes together. But the musician must LEARN how to put the instruments together. He must learn how to play the guitar, and in doing this, he learns how to harmonize with the other instruments.

So then, we must learn to live in peace with ourselves.

As artists, we tend to fall into different categories: 1) those who criticize their work 2) those who criticize others’ work. Let’s not fall into either of these. I hate hearing people say, oh blah blah blah, “real” art. What is “REAL” art? And who are you to say? Are you Van Gogh, or Diego Rivera? Are you Fridha Khalo? Even they would tell you that they are not the ones to say what real art is and what is not.

Living in harmony means taking away the labels. Stop labeling yourself and others. Art is art. It’s not your buisness to say what is real and what is not. It is only your job to make the world see things the way you see them, through your own art. That’s all. The rest does not matter.

Today’s crafty endeavor, is another free pattern! Yeah! I am on a roll with these patterns. It’s actually a lot of fun to knit up something new.

This is called, “The New Yorker” Cowl, because it’s inspired by the many hip new yorkers I see walking around with all these funky expensive cowls. I’ve even seen some cowls on etsy for over $100. Woah. I think for $100 I would rather learn to make my own, don’t you? I mean, still I understand everyone’s got rent and bills to pay. So it’s all good. But I’m glad I know how to knit.

The New Yorker Cowl

Size 10 mm needles

2 skeins of Lion Brand Alpine Wool Yarn in Chili

CO 32 stitches

Row 1-k

Row 2-P

(only because I simply cannot start a knit pattern straight away. I always do two rows of stockinette. But you can do whatever you wish, of course).

Do a rib knit: K2, P2 for entire pattern, until piece measures 22 inches, then sew or crochet the seams.

That’s it, baby! It’s so easy.

You could even pull the thing up to cover your ears.

I want to do another version I’ve seen, one that closes and has cool buttons. Perhaps that one will  be next.

I also made a cool journal that I’ve got for sale in my boutique.

The Craftaholic

Visit my Handmade Boutique!

