Day 136: Make Another Paper Flower

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“If the mind is dominated by hatred, the best part of the brain which is used to judge right and wrong, does not function properly.”

The Buddha said that whatever we think, is what we get in life. Our mind is such a powerful thing. It can be a weapon against the negative things in our life, or it can be our worst enemy.

The worst thing we can do in life, is allow our mind to seep in hatred and fear. These feelings are so cancerous, that they spread to the world around you. When you feel these emotions, you start to see that your children get fussy, your spouse argues with you, your boss becomes a jerk…and you begin to think that the world is against you. But it’s not so. It is your own mind that is against you. YOU are against you.

Art is amazing and healing thing. As artists, crafters, and knitters, we know this. We know that we can heal ourselves through our art. But then there are times when perhaps we do not want to heal. We want to punish ourselves for whatever mistakes we have made. We want to feel anger towards the person who hurt us. In this way, we feel that we are punishing them, don’t we? We think, they don’t deserve my forgiveness. But you’ve got it wrong. YOU are the one who suffers. Not the other person. Life goes on and the person who hurt you will move on. They will marry, have children, grandchildren…and you will sit there still feeling these things that happened to you perhaps a long time ago.

So it’s best to move on. It’s best to put it in your mind, that yes. I am going to heal myself through poring my feeling upon my art, and I’m going to let go. I’m going to knit like a mad woman on a rampage, and let go with every stitch. Let go with every stroke of painting. Let go. Heal your life.

Today’s crafty endeavor, is another paper flower. I was so inspired by Donna Salazar’s paper flowers. They are so pretty! My problem is that I have this pretty vintage dictionary paper that is quite fragile. The pages break easily. So I made my own version of these pretty paper flowers.

You’ll need some scallop circles, big ones and small ones.

The first thing is to layer the paper-dictionary paper, and tissue paper.

Then, cut the scallops to emulate petals. Remember to leave the center uncut, so this will be your flower bud.

Then, add the smaller (uncut) scallop circles, and a matching brad. I used a pretty glittered one.

Then, just crinkle it lightly with your hand.

You’re done!

Here’s a book I bound and embellished with the pretty flowers:

Cute, right? It’s a 100 page hand bound book made by yours truly. It’s for sale in my boutique.

The Craftaholic

Visit my handmade boutique!

