Day 135: Make an Envelope Keepsake Book

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Feelings of anger, bitterness, and hate are negative. If I kept them inside me they would spoil my body and health. They are of no use.”

The truth is, as I’ve said: we all go through stuff. Right? The thing is, the point is, not to let it swallow you up. Why do we allow these negative things to seep into our soul?

I know a person who carries bitterness from her childhood, and she is now 50 years old. This woman, never forgives, never forgets. Is she married? No. Is she happy? I don’t think a person who carries so much negativity could be. How? How could you be happy when you are carrying bitterness?

I went through stuff in my childhood and teen years. I made some mistakes. And for a while, I did carry around a lot of anger, bitterness and hatred. Eventually, all the things I held against my parents and old boyfriends ended up turning to myself. I ended up hating myself, and hating the world around me. That’s not a good place to be. Not at all. In this state, why would an employer want to keep you? Why would a man want to date a woman like this? Why would anyone want to be around a person so filled with negativity, that they seep it and spread it?

I got to a point in my life where I was just sick of it. I started reading the Dalai Lama’s teachings, and it really spoke to me. I decided that I wanted to surround myself with love. If not for myself, for my daughter who I was pregnant with.

So I allowed myself to let go of all the crap I had inside. I wrote poems about letting go. I collaged about letting go. I made “let go” my mantra. And in my time, I did.

Looking back, I feel that I was a totally different person from who I am now. Let go of the anger. Turn all of those feelings to your art. Instead of allowing the negativity in your heart, let go of it in your art. Take that fury and that energy and harness it. Let it inspire you to create, as you let go. Create art, and let go. Then you’ll find that you’ve become more of an artist then when you began your journey.

Today’s crafty endeavor, is a handmade book. This is another recycling project. You’re going to need some card envelopes. If you’re anything like me, you’ve got scores of them. I happened to have this pretty handmade paper that I bought at Dick Blick, when they were on clearance. So I’m using handmade paper envelopes. But you could even make your own envelopes out of construction paper, to get a similar look to mine.

The first thing you are going to do, is fold the flap as pictured:

So then, you’re going to add glue to the tip of the envelope flap.

And glue it down.


After that, you should open it, and glue the insides together. Remember how you folded the flap into two? You just glued the tip, now you’ve got to glue the inside part of the flap:

Now you can start embellishing! This book is great because it uses envelopes; that means, you can not only put pictures, but you can keep little ticket stubs, tags and all sorts of little memories.

Here it is before I embellished it.

And after:

This is the front. Nice, eh? The birds are Valentine Die cuts from K & Co.

This is a page to post a picture in. Cute, right?

Another picture page.

Pockets!

Last page.

I hope you like this quick project! It’s so easy, and it’s fun. You can recycle those envelopes you don’t use, and make a unique looking memory book. This can even be a baby book, or a wedding book!

The Craftaholic

Visit my Handmade Boutique

