Day 131: Make a Wishful Shrine Box

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“We have to adopt a wider perspective and always find common things between the people of north, south, east, and west.”

Have I used this one already? Well anyway, I think the point of this is that we must learn to come together more as a people instead of insisting on identifying ourselves with our differences. Why not identify ourselves with what we have in common?

Anyway, today’s crafty endeavor is a little shrine box that I made. Each year, I make a little shrine box that represents what I expect out of the coming year. It’s a shrine box and a wish box in one, really.

So this year I happened to find this cool shadow box by EK Success’s Maple Lane brand. It’s a keepsake shadow box made of wood with a keepsake drawer and easel stand. Cool, right? I thought this was quite cool indeed.

Anyway, I’ve told you before how to make a shadow box. It’s the same principle.

Take the easel part out of the frame, so you can work with it while your glitter dries.

I covered the wood parts with Mod Podge and a foam brush. Then I used gold crafty chica glitter. Let it dry, then spray at least two coats of Varnish.

The inside should reflect your desires and personality. What do you want in life? What do you expect out of the coming year? Think of these things, as you scour your home for little pictures, ticket stubs, cards, etc. I love making shrines because this is what I do: I scour my home for little things laying around in my drawers and stuff, that I save for the memories.

My central theme was the Goddess Lakshmi. You can use whatever you like. I used gold glitter around the edges because it matches nicely. For example, if you were going to use Jesus as your central theme, I would use blue glitter.

Anyhow, the inside drawer is just filled with things that are meaningful to me. I collect crystals; a business card of mine, a candle, some incense, and some trinkets of my husband and I’s.

That’s it!

For the inside paper, I used The “Taj Majal” Stack. I used K & Co. “Life’s Journey” metal alphabet letters for the top front. The inside right hand corner is embellished with a Prima flower. The rest are things that I had around my house. Everyone has little trinkets laying around.

Remember that this box is about what you want. Save those fortune cookie fortunes! Print out a poem by your favorite writer. Rumi has amazing poetry, find it online and print out a poem that exemplifies what you want in life.

The act of doing this, really helps your mind register what you want. It’s not just a desire anymore, it’s something that can and will happen. Think of the things that you want in life, no matter how big or small, and make it happen. Make your wishes happen! Part of that, is putting together a box like this, so that your mind and your body work together with the Law of attraction and tell the Universe what you want in life. A little hope goes a long way.

