Day 127: A Sunny Set of Cards

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“The main cause of suffering is egoistic desire for one’s own comfort and happiness.”

The Buddha was known for saying that the selfless person is the happiest person. Why? Because the selfless person isn’t thinking about their own satisfaction. Their satisfaction is that of others. Mother Theresa gave up a life of wealth to be with the poorest of the poor and sickest of the sick, not because she wanted to be a saint. But because she knew that is what her calling was. We are all called to be selfless. That’s the one thing that christianity and buddhism have in common: the idea of selflessness.

Try thinking less of your own happiness and satisfaction, and thinking of others. Perhaps you’ll see that your marriage will get better, because you’ll realize that it’s okay to do the dishes, even though you absolutely detest washing dishes. Wash them because your partner has this crazy OCD about dishes being in the sink. Then he’ll come home happier. Selflessness is a chain reaction. Just think of others first. Then think of yourself.

Today’s crafty endeavor is a couple of cards that I made. I just found my copic markers (after cleaning my closet once and for all). I am on such a roll with my rubber stamp collection now. I had lost them, and now have found them! So yes, I’m on a rubber stamp kick.

I used a couple of stamps from Sideshow Stamps, some regular colored card stock (from my local art supply store), black ink pad, and of course, my copic markers. And some dimentionals. Can’t forget that.

I like small cards, because that’s how I roll. But you can make larger sized ones, if you like.

Personally, I think I should have used glitter somewhere. But don’t worry, I’m making a set of owl cards tomorow, and for sure that I will be using some glitter.

Like it?

The Craftaholic

