Day 126: The Three Way Shawl

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Through meditative techniques, one can free the mind of delusions and attain what we call enlightenment.”

Wow. I have nothing to say. Well, that’s not true. Meditating has really saved my life quite a bit. How?

Well, the truth is I was at one point a very sad person. I mean, I had a lot handed to me at a very young age. I’ve gone through things that some people don’t go through in a lifetime. Everyone goes through stuff. We all interpret it differently. Some children, when they are upset, they cry. Others yell and throw tantrums. It’s like adults. I’m more of a crybaby, myself.

So I started meditating about 13 years ago, when I had miscarried. It was a hard time for me. I went through that alone. But meditation somehow helped me stay sane. That and my writing is really what saved me.

Because of my solitude in life, I was forced to let out my sadness somehow. I let it out through my writing, and my art. It is in this time that I really feel that I started to become an artist. I was always creative. But my art came from this dark and dreary thing that happened to me so long ago. Everything happens for a reason. Bad things happen to good people. It’s life. But then we go through it, we turn to our faith in a higher power, we turn to our meditation and prayer…then years later we see…it happened, and out of it, came something beautiful.

Today’s crafty endeavor, is a FREE knitting pattern!

I’ve been working on this shawl for some time now, and just recently finished it! Yay for me. It’s another light, airy lace pattern, this time a variation on my golden cowl pattern.

The nice thing about this shawl is that it can be worn many ways.

You can wrap it around as a shawl or wrap.

You can wear it as a scarf, around the neck.

You can wear it as a cowl.

Fun, right?

The Three Way Shawl

3 skeins of Lion Brand Amazing Yarn

Size 17 needles

CO 40 Sts.

Lace Pattern:

Row 1: Knit

Row 2: Purl

Row 3: K2tog, YO (for entire row)

Row 4: Purl

Continue until piece measures 50″, then cast off.

That’s it! You are finito. Easy right? Even a beginner can knit this up.

The Craftaholic

www.sweetbuddha.etsy.com

