Day 125: Make Your Own Body Cream & Lip Balm

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Conflict comes from the basis of differences.”

This is EXACTLY why I always say that I hate labels. Do you see now, why?

If we all were to just look beyo

nd our differences, perhaps we would live in peace. Personally, I hate labels. I love the song by John Lennon, “Imagine”. You know why? He wasn’t talking about literally imagining no heaven or hell. He was talking about looking past that. Imagine yourself just as you, beyond the label of your religious persuasion, race or gender.

Here’s a link to to song on youtube. Think about this quote for a minute, then listen to the song, and see what happens.

Click here

My creative endeavor for today, was a workshop I taught, on making your own body creams and lip balm. It’s such a cold winter this year, eh?

Here’s the recipes that I used for my class:

Basic Body Cream

melt down in double boiler:

1 oz. Shea Butter

1/2 oz. Beeswax

Then, add in:

4 oz. Almond or Hemp Seed Oil

mix thoroughly, and remove from heat, still stirring.

Add in:

1 oz. herb water (such as orange flower water, or even herbal tea, really)

Wisk, wisk, wisk until the color of the cream turns to a milky white, and the cream begins to thicken. Add in a few drops of essential oils, and pour into a container.

Then we made some Lip Balm.

Here’s our formula:

Winter Lip Balm

Melt together:

1 oz. beeswax

3 oz. Castor Oil

after it’s melted, add in a few drops of Rosemary essential oil (or just whatever scent you wish)

That’s it! You’re done.

Easy Peasy, right?

I love making creams and balms and salves and soaps and things. That’s how I got my craftepreneur start! I started selling my crafts, by making and selling hand made soaps and creams. It was so much fun, but it is a lot of work. Now, I get to teach people how to make it themselves, without all the slavery of having to make tons of it for sale at craft fairs.

