Day 117: New Year’s Resolutions

by thecraftaholic

Today’s post does not contain a quote from the Dalai Lama. Those of you who are just tuning in, I have challenged myself to create art each day, and talk about the teachings of the Dalai Lama. It’s sort of my challenge to myself. My own trip to creative nirvana.

Anyhow, resolutions.

What are your resolutions? Do you have any?

First, I suppose I should talk about 2009. And the entire first decade of the 21st century. What did it bring me? I went into the first decade of the 21st century, with the love of my life, the man I would later marry and have a child with.

This past decade has been amazing for me. It’s been filled with good and bad, as is life in general.

Each decade that turns has brought me much change. I’m only 33 years old, but still. Through out each decade that I’ve seen turn, I’ve seen lots of positive things happen.

I’ve seen some loss. My grandmother pass away, a few months before my wedding. It was sad, yes. Life…it’s like a tree. We see that trees wither in the winter. In the spring, they come back to life. Then in the summer they really flourish and grow. And then the fall comes. The leaves change colors, and they fall to the ground. That’s life, I think.

I used to be afraid of change, afraid of what newness would come, of what new things were lurking. But I quickly realized that if you do not welcome change with open arms, it comes to you by force.

Sometimes change is painful. But I give you the illustration of the tree for a reason: because it is in that time when we feel we have nothing left, that we must be still. You don’t have to literally be still and do nothing.  What is being still to you? Define it. Own it. Creatively, I am most usually still be sticking to the things I normally do, like writing, and book making.  Change happens when we are still in the sense that we aren’t scrambling around looking for the answer. Just be still. Write. Create the thing you most love to. And wait for the evolution to come.

As for my year, it’s been a roller coaster! Lots of ups and downs.

I’m grateful to start the new year, on a new blog platform, with a new and fresh outlook on my creative career.

My resolutions?  I never keep any, except to keep moving forward. So that is my resolution. That and to be more healthy. But maybe that’s every mother’s wish.

The Craftaholic

www.sweetbuddha.etsy.com

