Day 115: Make a Camera Cozy

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

I am open to the guidance of synchronicity, and do not let expectations hinder my path.


What does synchronicity mean?
When I look it up in the thesaurus, this is what I get:

Main Entry: coexistence
Part of Speech: noun
Related
Adjectives:
associated with, coetaneous, coeternal, coeval, coevous, coexisting, coincident, concomitant,concurrent, contemporaneous, contemporary, equaeval, isochronous, simultaneous, synchronal, synchronical, synchronistical, synchronous

Interesting. How do we coexsist? This means, that even though I don’t agree with you, I can still make art with you, because I realize that I don’t have to talk about what religion I am or what politician I voted for.
Coexsisting means no labels. It means that I don’t feel the need to call myself “professional crafter”. I mean, what the hell does that mean? Is it the fact that a person has published a book? I know plenty of craft books filled with craft fails. Don’t get me wrong. I love a good craft book. But I hate labels so much. Why do have to call yourself “professional”? It doesn’t matter to me weather you’ve published or not. Van Gogh never sold a painting in his life. And I’ll be damned if Fridha Khalo boasted of being a “professional” artist.
So why do we need the labels? Perhaps it comes from insecurities that we push onto the world.
Let’s just be artists. Crafters. Scrapbookers. Knitters. Who the hell cares if you are professional. Or Christian. Or Buddhist. Or Muslim. Or pagan. Or whatever. Just put those silly things aside, and be my friend. Coexist.
So today I made a camera case for my new and fabulous camera. It’s pretty easy to make. I’m not so sure I like the finished product. Probably, I should just stick to paper, really.

The first thing you need to do, is cut the fabric to double the size of your camera, with some space on the sides for stitching.
Select your embroidery pattern, and iron it onto the canvas fabric.

Embroider your pattern, and glue the felt sheet to the wrong side of the canvas, with spray adhesive. You could use fabric glue, but I was feeling lazy.

Cut the felt, fold the fabric in half, and stitch it up, leaving an opening on the top.
After that, spray with some shimmer mist. Make your own.


This is the finished work. Like it?
I made a hole on the side there, so that the wrist strap can go in, so that I can hold my camera with the case and all, just with the camera strap.
I’m pretty happy with it. It does the job. Also, I like the Tye Dyed effect that the shimmer mist adds.
Also, I wanted to announce, that I’m thinking about transferring my blog to wordpress. What do you all think?
WordPress is better for me at this point, since they allow subpages, and all sorts of things.


The Craftaholic
