Day 113: Make a New Year’s Wish Banner

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

From the viewpoint of absolute truth, what we feel and experience in our ordinary daily life is all delusion. Of all the various delusions, the sense of discrimination between oneself and others is the worst form, as it creates nothing but unpleasantness for both sides. If we can realize and meditate on ultimate truth, it will cleanse our impurities of mind and thus eradicate the sense of discrimination. This will help to create true love for one another. The search for ultimate truth is, therefore, vitally important.”

Ultimate truth. We have these ideas in our head of what life is, of what people around us should act like, of what our spouses and friends should be. But when they aren’t, or when they don’t live up to our expectations, we get let down. Right?
We get disillusioned with religion, with people, with places that gentrify and change. We have this idea in our mind, of what truth is; it’s the truth that our parents handed to us. It’s not what we truly are.
I’m such a sucker for realitity tv. Last night I was watching “Tough Love”. He gave the women an exercise of writing a letter to their father, so they can see the mistakes they make in their relationships.
I think that we do this, in life. We add expectations to people based on things that have happened to us, based on people who let us down in the past, or based on a culture that our parents taught us.
But we can find our truth through meditation.
If you’re not a person who meditates, think about doing some mindful knitting. Or just be aware as you create. Think about it.
I suggest knitting, because it’s just so mindless. I literally just sit there on the train, and come up with the best ideas, because there is no counting or anything. I focus on my third eye point (in between your eyes), and just resolve some issue, or come up with an idea, or think about what could be improved.
So do this. Don’t knit? Try crocheting. But this method requires that you make something that is totally mindless. Don’t do any complicated lace patterns or hats or anything. This is the perfect thing to do while finishing a scarf or afghan.
So today’s project is so pretty, and so much fun.
I took a trip to target yesterday, and bought some sticker letters, that spell out WISH.
So as I stated last week, the folks at DCWV sent me a couple stacks of their paper, and with it, I made this beautiful banner.
I also used some die cuts from K & Co. and the aforementioned letters, which I’m proud to say only cost me 99 cents.
I also used a oval shaped banner template from Oriental Trading Company.
And a No. 2 pencil.
It’s pretty easy to make this banner. I selected some pretty papers, to use for my banner. One will have the scallop edge, and one will be a bit more simple looking, to go on top of the scallop edge.
I ended up using two sheets of both shades of paper that I used.
The first step is to trace the template on the white side of the paper. Then, cut it out.

Then, you’ll apply the perfect round oval (above) on top of the oval with the scallop edges.
I used some dimensionals, to make it pop up a little bit.
After that, I used these little die cuts from K & Co.
Then, you just apply the letters in the perfect center.
Then, get some pretty ribbon, and your whole punch.
Punch a whole on each side of the oval, and string the ribbon through.
That’s it, you’re done!
Hang it up, for New Year’s Eve, and make a wish for the New Year.
I hope you like this fun project! The DCWV paper stack that I used is The Citrus Stack.


The Craftaholic
