Day 111: Make a Matroyshka Nesting Doll Ring

by thecraftaholic

Quote:


I believe all suffering is caused by ignorance. People inflict pain on others in the selfish pursuit of their happiness or satisfaction. Yet true happiness comes from a sense of peace and contentment, which in turn must be achieved through the cultivation of altruism, of love and compassion, and elimination of ignorance, selfishness, and greed.”

I was just talking to my husband about this very thing the other day. It was Xmas eve, and I, as most people, start to think about the past, and things that could have been different.
But then I realized that a lot of the pain that we bring upon ourselves, is caused by our silly need to inflict our ideals on others.
We constantly try to make the world around us just like ourselves. But we must realize that the world around is a DIVERSE one. Sure, we can believe what we do, and worship the god we do, where the clothing we love…but we should realize that the world around is never going to be, nor should it be, just the way we are.
True happiness comes from being content. In this season of giving, recieving, and racking up debt, maybe we should realize that true happiness comes from the pursuit of happiness and peace.

Today’s crafty endeavor comes to you after about 4 failed attempts at a paper calender that I wanted to make. So I gave up, after being quite aggravated and decided to make some jewelry.
It’s so easy to make these.
I made some matroyshka doll rings. A whole set, in fact. These are easy to make.
You’ll need a set of Matryoshka Doll Pendant Charms.
Some E-6000 glue
The firs thing to do is to take the pendant loop on the top, off. I did this with some jewelry plier thingies.

What else? Glue the pendant charm to the wrap base.
Then, just glue that to the ring base.
That’s it!
You’re done!
I made a whole bunch, which are for sale in my boutique.
Oh! Also, I wanted to mention two things:
One is my scarves for the homeless effort is still on. I plan on giving a few scarves I’ve made out on Jan. 4th.
Also, I’ve decided to start giving away some of my art. This whole crafting for nirvana every day thing is putting a lot of clutter in my home. So yeah! Stay tuned! I’ll start the weekly give aways next week!


The Craftaholic

