Day 109: Make a Hand Bound Book

by thecraftaholic




Quote: 


 

“Remember that not getting what you want is sometimes a wonderful stroke of luck.”


Why is this? I’ll tell you something: when I was in high school, if you would have asked me, I would have told you, I want like ten kids. Ten kids, no career, and just to stay home.
While I think it’s a beautiful thing that I am a stay at home mother, I am also a WORK at home mother. My career is my art.
I didn’t get what I wanted. I wanted to marry young, and have many children. I ended up marrying at 26, and having a child at 31, which is later than I intended. I don’t think that I will have any more children. But how is this a good thing, you ask?
Hmm. If things hadn’t happened this way, I wouldn’t have turned to my art so strongly. I wouldn’t have at all.
John Lennon said, “Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans”. That’s life. Everything I’ve gone through led me to the point where I am now. It led me to be able to be here with you, and sharing my art and creative endeavors with you.
Life happens. Unexpected things happen all the time. We intend for our life to be a certain way. But the universe makes other plans.
We must realize this. We must be flexible, and turn to our art in the hard times that come, so that when we look back, we realize we’ve grown.

Today is a busy day for me. I did manage to make something today. I made one of my husband’s Christmas presents. It’s a hand bound book, using my own way of bookbinding. So since some of us celebrate Christmas by making a meal on Christmas eve, then waiting until midnight, and others celebrate the next day, I’ve decided to give you my gift today.
Tomorow, I won’t be posting. I know I made a vow to make it an every day thing, but hey. Christmas day is a big deal over here.
You know?
So here we go, let’s make some books!
My particular method is based on the Coptic Stitch, which I learned through the Booklyn website. But instead of poking four holes in the spine of each section, I only poke two.
Look up the instructions for the coptic stitch.
So, get your recycled copy paper.
The first thing is to remember to make sections of 5.
Each section of five sheets will make 10 pages. Remember this.
So I like to make books with 100 pages. So that’s ten sections of five sheets.
Now with a bone folder, fold the pages in half. This will be the size of your book.
After you’ve folded each section, take your hole puncher (I use fiskars, they make one that makes tiny little holes).
All you do, is make holes by putting the hole puncher in the edge, where the fold is. Just put the thing as far down as it will go, and make the whole. One on the top, one on the bottom.
Do this for each section. It’s easier this way, so you don’t have to mark a spot or anything.
Now, get yourself an extra long needle. It can be an embroidery needle, that’s what I use.
Also, get some embroidery floss. The color doesn’t really matter much. I mean, not to me it doesn’t.
So get your embroidery floss, and DONT SPLIT IT! Just leave it as is. You want to make sure that the book is bound strongly.
The basic method for bookbinding that I use is this:
Go in the botton hole from the outside, then out on the top hole.
Then get the next paper section, and go in the hole paralell to the one you just took the needle out of.
Then into the bottom hole of that same section. Remember that after each section, pull the thread, so that it’s nice and tight, and not loose.
Then into the hole parallell to that one, on the first section. See? I’m putting the needle in the previous section. I’m doing this, so that I can make all the sections nice and tight.
Then just grab another section, and go into the hole parallel.
See how my hand is holding the sections there? I’m doing this so that I everything stays nicely in place.
That’s it. Do this for the rest of your sections.
At the last section, after you’ve gone over the previous section, go back into the last one again, so that each section is stitched together and nothing is loose.


You go over the stitches there, in between with your needle.
After that, just tie up the the two ends together. That’s it!
Now you can cut some cardboard, to use as your cover. Cut it to size and cover both sides with pretty papers, newspaper, comics, or whatever you wish!
After that, just apply the covers with spray adhesive, so the paper won’t wrinkle.
I added some ribbon on the sides because I wanted to. The ribbon is from Oriental Trading Company. I’m suprised, they are getting pretty hip.
The ribbon on the side, is added to give a space for pens, pencils or brushes.
Cool right?
I also managed to make some for my etsy shop. This will be the first of many, as I really do enjoy bookmaking.


Like it? I hope you do!

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop HERE and HERE!

 

