Day 107: Make an Altered Birdhouse

by thecraftaholic

Quote:


“For as long as space endures, and for as long as living beings remain, until then may I, too, abide to dispel the misery of the world.”

The Dalai Lama, as I daily quote, has such an immeasurable amount of wisdom. Of course, we can too decide to rid the world of misery. How do we do this? We start within ourselves. When you find peace within yourself, you find peace in the world around you. With peace, comes less misery. That’s the goal, isn’t it?
So today’s creative endeavor, is an altered bird house. I bought a bunch at Oriental Trading Company. So cheap! A pack of 12 for less than $20!
So this is the first of many.
For this project, you’ll need a plain or unwanted birdhouse. You can even try to find one at the dollar store.
You’ll also need some pretty papers, elmer’s glue, scotch brand quick drying glue, glitter, and various embellishments.
Remember, as with shadow boxes-altered art, as a general rule, should have a collective theme. Each embellishment and item you choose to dress your bird house with, should sort of go together and define one idea.
My idea was “fantasy”. Not fairy, but just…butterflies and birds and whimsy.
The first step, is to select your papers, and get your birdhouse. In my case, I had to get all the wooden pieces together, since my birdhouse came unassembled.
I used K& Company’s “Berry Sweet” paper stack.
To glue the papers, looking back, I should have just used spray adhesive. But I used Scotch brand quick dry glue. But use what you have, and use what works.
If you’re using a bird house kit that needs to be assembled, then you’ll have to apply the paper to the wood and separately cut out the excess paper away.
Then, when the glue has dried thoroughly, assemble your birdhouse.
Now, it’s time for the embellishing.
For my embellishments, I chose a little bird sticker from the “Apple of my Eye” collection at Oriental Trading Co.
I also chose some paper butterflies that I had cut out from the “Garden Collection” paper stack.
Glitter trimming is by Martha Stewart, in the color of Toumaline.
The “Smile” sticker coordinates with the Berry Sweet paper stack.

Just put things together, and see what happens! This is a fun and easy project. The next one will be an Indian decor themed birdhouse.

Like it? I hope you do!

The Craftaholic
