Day 90: Butterfly Buddha Gift Tag

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“But from another standpoint, a firm ego, sure of itself, can be a very positive element. You have to have real confidence in yourself.”
I can
choose to
believe you or I can
choose to
look at the facts
I can choose to listen to you
when out of your mouth comes
insecticide
the world aroumd me, it’s
like a
junlge
mad people running around like chickens
rudely bumping into each other without an excuse me or pardon me
the world around me, it
can
will
does
crush you
sometimes
but I
fight back
with my firmly planted feet and my
dreamy thoughts of
who I am and
where I
choose to
plant my head
I’m
moving on
I suppose
confidence
that’s not really a word I
tossed around, or
thought much about
I thought confidence was beauty and lying about your age
I
mistoook confidence for
other things
confidence
I guess it sort of snuck up
on me
in a silly sneaky way
I
gave birth to my daughter and she left behind a few things in my belly
things
like
confidence
aspirations
dreams
hope
faith
so
I guess
I have her
to thank
This quote reminds me of the song by Gloria Gaynor, “I will survive”. I know it’s a breakup song.
THe Dalai Lama is talking about how in Buddhism, the main priciple is shedding the ego. Letting go of the “I am” nonsense. So he’s saying here that actually it’s good though, to be sure of yourself, to be confident.
So for today’s crafty endeavor I made more tags. Yep. I’m on a roll.
This one was painted with gold acrylic paint, over canvas paper that I cut with my handy Sizzix Big Shot.
Then, I cut some butterflies out of card stock (sorry, I can’t remember who makes it!). I think it’s from a stack, the Garden collection or something.
The Buddha is printed from artwork of my huband’s, and cut out with a 1 inch circle punch. Then I just put glaze over the picture.
After that, glue it up, and voila!
I decided to give you the instructions, because I felt bad that I never really post any tutorials on here. It takes up alot of time to make those tutes.
Today we also put up our Xmas tree. That was fun.
The Craftaholic
