Day 83: Creative Inspiration Kits

by thecraftaholic

Quote:


“We are all on this planet together, brothers and sisters with the same physical and mental facilities, the same problems and needs.”

I went to Manhattan today with my little one. The one thing I love about being a Sagittarius, is that I have always said that I feel like the City lights up just for me.
This time of year is quite busy for New York. Lots of tourists, and general wandering New Yorkers that come in to do their holiday shopping. So it’s crowded.
This time of year, it’s easy for us to think that we are alone, or to shelter ourselves in a planet of one. We begin to feel sorry for ourselves, thinking that no one else understands us, or knows how we feel. When we start to entertain these thoughts, we end up “acting out” by smoking more, drinking, spending money, or whatever your vice may be.
First of all, try to let your vice become making art. That’s mine. Seriously, I go to clothing stores nowadays and I’m not even thrilled by anything there. Maybe it’s because I do go to so many clothing swaps. But really, it’s because rather than notoriously drink or smoke, or waste hundreds of dollars in credit card debt, I turn all my feelings to my art. Sometimes it’s all you have.
If you don’t feel that you can, just do it anyway. Start by writing. Write it all. Write it in a poem, or however it is that you feel it. Don’t think too much, just do it.
Also, it helps, to do as the Dalai Lama states, and just be aware that you aren’t alone.
New York City hasa culture of alone ness. So if you live in NYC or beyond, I urge you to not be afraid to talk to someone next to you. You know, just chat. Don’t be afraid to make new friends. We don’t all have to be alone.
So for today’s crafty endeavor, I bring you, some creative inspiration!
I put together two little kits, to see how you all like them. They are for sale in my shop.

Like it?


The Craftaholic



