Day 62: CD Bookmaking with a friend

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

To be aware of a single shortcoming within oneself is more useful than to be aware of a thousand in somebody else. Rather than speaking badly about people and in ways that will produce friction and unrest in their lives, we should practice a purer perception of them, and when we speak of others, speak of their good qualities.”

Do you remember being in high school? Do you remember those girls that would sit in the bathroom and gossip about “that” girl? Or the girls that made you feel crappy because you chose to wear your dad’s flannel shirts, and color your hair green(well at least in MY high school days, it was not so hip to have green hair)?
Judgemental. That’s what it is, right? When you look at a person and assume that you won’t get along with them, or that you have nothing in common with them?
I have a friend; a mommy friend that I occasionally hang out with. If you look on her facebook profile, it states that she’s a christian.
Now, given my background, and my issues with that particular branch of religion, I tend to automatically think in my head that this person will probably not want to be close with me, as I sadly am normally right.
But actually, she’s a really cool person. We get along really well, and she listens to me when I bitch about my life (sorry for being a potty mouth there).
My point is that we are always so aware of what is wrong with another person, we don’t bother to think of ourselves at all. AT ALL.
In a relationship, we do this. In friendship or marriage. It’s so easy in a relationship, to point out the mistakes of the other. We don’t want to focus on what we need to work on. We don’t want to think about how we need to think of someone else.
My mother in law says that we are all born selfish. Children are born selfish. But it’s a natural selfishness, not with bad intentions, but with a pure sense of knowing what they need. As we grow into adulthood, we sometimes stay a little selfish, don’t we?
My daughter finds it difficult sometimes to share, or to think of others. I have to teach her that it is a good thing to share toys, and to say hello and goodbye. We must remember this, in our relationships and within ourselves.
“Take out the plank in your own eye” is what Jesus said. He was right, eh? We need to focus on our mistakes, on improving ourselves before we think of what someone else needs to improve.
I heard a preacher once say that we are all in search of the perfect church. But the minute you step in, it isn’t perfect anymore.
And so it is with life. We are in search of the perfect friend, husband, partner, job, etc. But nothing is perfect. First, improve your life, and improve how you respond to the every day.
Then you can truly make a difference in the world.

So for today’s crafty endeavor, I had a fun get together with a friend.

We made some books, and talked about our hand made Xmas gift ideas.

This one was made with a CD Album. Cool, eh?
Speaking of Xmas, I’m working on an Xmas banner.

This one was made with cardboard, because I am lacking chipboard.
YES. Xmas. I’m starting early. I’ve got some ideas for some Xmas ornaments I’ll be making for our tree, and well, this week I’ll be posting a handmade Xmas Decor round up. It’s been a while since I posted a round up, so this will be fun.
I’ve already got a list of things I’ll be making as gifts. The list is long, because I love to get lots of gifts for Xmas. Bad, I know.

The Craftaholic

