Day 61: Making Paper Beads

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“If one’s life is simple, contentment has to come. Simplicity is extremely important for happiness. Having few desires, feeling satisfied with what you have, is very vital: satisfaction with just enough food, clothing, and shelter to protect yourself from the elements. And finally, there is an intense delight in abandoning faulty states of mind and in cultivating helpful ones in meditation.”

Simplicity. That’s what this is about. When I browse the internet, I find a plethora of websites just dedicated to lifestyles of voluntary simplicity.
I think i’ve used this quote before, but I’m recycling it, because i feel it merits reuse. Simplicity is not something that many of us may really think about, or be used to.
I live in New York City, the fashion capital of the world, and one of the biggest cities in the world. Living here means you are expecting things around you to be big, grandiose and extravagant. We can’t help it. We’re used to seeing celebrities and film crews wherever we roam.
Going to Rockefeller Center or 14th Street Union Square during the winter holidays, you can see what I mean. It’s grandiose.
So it is wrong to want something large and extravagant? Not really. I mean, everyone has unique taste. Some may love the simplicity and elegance of Martha Stewart, while others may long for the Extravagant Glitterati of The Crafty Chica. There is a different color for everyone, my mother tells me.
I think simplicity is unique for each person. It’s about being content with what you have. The greed of wanting more is what is wrong, not the extravagance. Instead of wanting, try being content and grateful. According to the Law of Attraction, when we are content and grateful, we actually attract more blessings to ourselves.
Being content can help us along the path to compassion. It’s a chain reaction.

So for today’s crafty endeavor, I made some paper beads.

I loved making these, because I just used my scraps of leftover designer paper, and voila! A bunch of cool beads.
There’s a tutorial on how to make these, using UTEE, but I should add that at the end, I didn’t use it. I got lazy and ran out of Embossing ink, so I just used some Acrylic Gloss Medium, which I do have.
You could use that, or you could use any artist varnish. I would do a couple coats.
The next batch I will make will be from fashion magazines, although for that I think I’ll need some UTEE, because that sort of paper is a bit more thin.
I’m not sure what to make with them, although I’m thinking that I’ll be getting lots of inspiration from this cool website. Yay!
While I’m at it, can I tell you how much I love the blog, Art for Housewives? I do. I could spend HOURS exploring this site.

The Craftaholic

