Day 52: Rainy Day Embossed Card Set

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“My message is the practice of compassion, love and kindness. Compassion can be put into practice if one recognizes the fact that every human being is a member of humanity and the human family regardless of differences in religion, culture, color…”

In the world we live in, it is impossible to look at a person and not make some sort of judgment based on their looks or appearance. The clothing we wear, and the way we dress our children…these things tell a lot about a person. My husband says you can tell a lot about a person from the shoes they wear. It’s true, I suppose.
We live our lives passing judgments; sometimes good, sometimes not so good. We can’t help it, sometimes. It’s the world we live in, the society that we embrace-this way of identifying ourselves based on what is on the outside.
Some of us obssess over what we wear, over coloring our grey hair, and polishing our shoes just so. Some of us don’t bother.
There is a line between the two, and perhaps we should strive for the middle, with vanity and appearances.
But when it comes to our interactions with people we are also so filled with judgments! Perhaps it is because I live in New York City; this large bustling city filled with immigrants, Midwest transplants, tourists and New York natives, all competing for their piece of the city. We pass judgments. Some people, they see the way I dress, they hear the way I speak…and they assume that I am not the race I am. Perhaps I am from Connecticut, or something. Ohio, even.
Then I address my daughter in spanish and all the men start their catcalling in my native language.
It’s the way the world works, I suppose. We pass these judgments, assuming we know something that we really sometimes don’t.
As artists and crafters, we still do this. We don’t mean to, but we do nonetheless. We judge a woman in local yarn shop, who asks for cheaper yarn, looking at her as if she too should be a yarn snob.
We judge a crafty mom who perhaps doesn’t spoil her child with all the fancy toys that another person may, wondering how her daughter stays so entertained with so few toys.
We judge a person who is talkative, who as a lot to say.
The key to a more happy you, is to stop being “human”, as it were. I don’t mean it literally. I mean…perhaps we must tune in to our higher selves, tune in to our core. Perhaps if we make our decisions from our core, we will find ourselves passing less judgment, and caring more for the good of others, rather then just living to satisfy that need for real angora yarn (as much as I really am kind of a yarn snob….).
Compassion. That’s the way.

So for today’s crafty endeavor, I made a cute and simple set of dry embossed cards.

It’s a set of 12 cards.

They aren’t for sale. Sorry. I made these because I always throw in little extra goodies to my customers, because I know I love extra goodies in my packages.
Simple and sweet.
Meanwhile, my house is in total halloween mode. I’m so excited. I’m going to try to dress as Frida Khalo this year. It should be fun. I wanted my daughter to me a monkey from her paintings, but no. Little miss wants to be a dragon. So a dragon she will be. Perhaps I should make a painting of Frida Khalo with a Dragon. That would be fun.

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop here and here!

