Day 51: Recipe Card Altered Book

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“I believe all suffering is caused by ignorance. People inflict pain on others in the selfish pursuit of their happiness or satisfaction. Yet true happiness comes from a sense of brotherhood and sisterhood. We need to cultivate a universal responsibility for one another and the planet we share.”

True happiness, he says. Hmm. I guess that’s why it’s more fun to make art in packs of people sometimes, eh?
We sit at our workspaces, and make our art in private….we get inspired through rainy days, and on the sunny ones we venture out…
I love crafting in a group of people. I love getting together with friends.
I love to share ideas with people and gain insight and inspiration.
Alright, you know what? I’m just going to come out and say what’s on my mind. Because this is my blog, and that’s how I roll.
You know what I think? I think that we are all so stuck on labeling ourselves that we pick too much at others. That’s why we wonder why we feel alone sometimes. The labels we stick on ourselves, don’t identify us, the exclude us, and others.
Speaking to other crafters, I’m always told about the cattiness they endure, in meetup groups, in various craft groups…it’s shocking to me, really. It always shocks me that in a space of art and creativity people make space for cattiness and exclusivity.
Art is about the soul, and the spirit. It’s about what’s inside you. It’s not about kicking some one out of some corny group that you have, just because they misunderstood the “rules” to your group, or look odd, or chew the wrong way. Don’t take your craft group so seriously that you take the fun out of it.
Just get together with people. Don’t talk about religion. Especially not when someone who OBVIOUSLY thinks differently then you is in the room. That’s just annoying.
I want to see more of you New Yorker Craft people getting together and making art, not being catty. Cattiness is annoying. And silly. And juvenile. Art is about healing your life, and making a statement about what’s in your soul. It’s not about leaving someone out.
Ahem!
So for today’s crafty endeavor, I made a cute recipe card altered book.

I really put all of me into this one. I love it. This is the first of many books I plan to make for sale, since I absolutely love making altered books like this.

This one has 5 chipboard pages, tabs for organizing, and has a cute vintage theme.

The next one will be a cupcake theme, that will be lots of fun.
Like this one? This one is for sale in my shop.

