Day 50: A Bouquet of Cabychon Rings

by thecraftaholic

Quote:
“From the viewpoint of absolute truth, what we feel and experience in our ordinary daily life is all delusion. Of all the various delusions, the sense of discrimination between oneself and others is the worst form, as it creates nothing but unpleasant”

I feel like we live our live every day, and we just have these “illusions of grandeur”. We live like we deserve everything that we have, and then those that have less…well…to bad.
Sometimes as crafters and artists, we long to make it our living-we want “just one more hour to preform our art and perfect our lives”, as Jim Morrison stated in one of his later songs. That’s kind of my anthem.
In all our art, and all we do, we must realize that the only permanence is our soul. In a Buddhist book I’ve been reading, the author (Osho) states that art is a reflection of your innermost self-your soul.
We get so caught up in our differences with others. Even as an artist or crafter, standing at the checkout at your local yarn shop, or at micheal’s or joanne’s….you’re standing there reading Martha Stewart magazine wondering why the woman next to you or in front of you grabbed that tacky 1980’s puffy paint. You are wondering, why does that even exsist, and who in their right mind would buy a sweat shirt from a craft store, decorate it with puffy paint and worst, who would wear that atrocity? All this is going through your mind, right?
Meanwhile the woman smiles and says, “my mother loves this crap. Puffy paint, can you believe it? I wouldn’t be caught dead in it, but that’s what she likes.”
You see, that’s just one example of how quick we are to differentiate ourselves from a person, as if we are somehow better. That’s what it is, really. It’s us thinking we somehow are at a higher or different level then another person.

So for today’s crafty endeavor, I made some fun Cabychon Rose Rings.

They were inspired by this funky girl I saw on the F train.

She was wearing this fun oversized ring, and I thought it was fabulous.

So I made this set of them. They aren’t for sale, these are going in the Xmas gift pile.

Someone related to me, or friends with me, will get one. And if they are nice, a matching set of hairpins, or earings. Or both, if they remember my birthday (December 3rd, and I loooove gifts)

