Day 43: Victorian Themed Halloween Note Cards

by thecraftaholic

Quote:
“Every noble work is bound to face problems and obstacles. It is important to check your goal and motivation thoroughly. One should be very truthful, honest, and reasonable. One’s actions should be good for others, and for oneself as well. Once a positive goal is chosen, you should decide to pursue it all the way to the end. Even if it is not realized, at least there will be no regret.”

You see, I relate this to my creativity so much. You know, I began my creative entepreneurism with soap making. I have always been creative and crafty with my collage work, but when I met my husband my creativity really got a good kick. He’s a classically trained artist. I was just telling my girl friend the other day, taht he’s such a source of creativity. He doesn’t even have to do anything. It’s like he emits it or something.
Anyway, I started about 11 years ago, when we first started dating. I asked him what sort of things he’d like for me to make him. He told me he loves soap. Back then, hand made soap was rare. I mean, it wasn’t as heard of as it is now. So I took a trip to AC Moore, and got myself some soap and a mold.
I had so much fun, I got addicted. I began to get into herbalism, and aromatherapy, and I really started making lots of soap, selling them at craft fairs, and flea markets throughout New York City. I loved it. I still love making soap. What stopped me from making it a real career, was just money issues. Soap is a fun, but expensive hobby. So I put it on hold and went on to other things, like paper crafting, knitting and crocheting.
When I wanted to get back into it, Etsy was already quite popular, and soap was always handmade. I hated telling someone that I made soap, only to hear, “oh yea, I have a friend who does that”. It got to the point where EVERY SINGLE PERSON would tell me this. So I decided that it was time to keep soap making as a hobby. I teach workshops on soapmaking and bath and body product making, but I like to offer someone something that not too many people offer. Something interesting and unique. So this quote above, reminds me that our endeavors may not always work out the way we want to the first time.
Have a goal. See it. Feel it. Then work toward it. Open your doors. Sometimes, it doesn’t always work out the way you plan. But fate always turns what seems to be negative into something amazing and positive.
So for today’s crafty endeavor, I have a cute set of cards. I know, I talked about them before, but this time, they are new and improved.

I made them oh so cute, and victorian style. Like them?

They are of course, for sale.

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop here and here

