Day 40: The Wedding Book

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“I am open to the guidance of synchronicity, and do not let expectations hinder my path.”

My thoughts:

When I was pregnant with my daughter I had a lot of expectations. I come from the “formula” generation, where everyone was children were formula fed and parents let their children cry themselves to sleep. Certainly, I do neither one with my own child, but I didn’t think parent hood would be quite as consuming. That’s the expectation.
I wonder why, when you are getting married people say, “oh congratulations! You know, marriage is A LOT of work!”, but when you are pregnant, they don’t say anything. Certainly, no one wants to hear that children, although beautiful, can also be quite annoying when it comes to bed time, bath time, and other human rituals.
I think the important thing is to practice as the Dalai Lama suggests, and just strip ourselves of the need to expect things. That’s what happens when we are disappointed in friendships, jobs, etc. We let our expectations to get in the way. But to not expect, is quite difficult now, isn’t it?

For my crafty endeavor, I did something fun. I made a cute cake themed wedding album.


It’s got 20 front and back pages, and comes with a little matching note card, which makes it ready for gift giving. It’s for sale in my shop, of course.

The Craftaholic

