Day 35: Knitted Wool Cowl

by thecraftaholic



Quote:

“The mind, however, registers every event, no matter how small. Hence we should devote our most serious efforts to bringing about mental peace. From my own limited experience I have found that the greatest degree of inner tranquillity comes from the development of love and compassion. The more we care for the happiness of others, the greater our own sense of well-being becomes.”

My thoughts:

I’m posting this quote today, as an ode to my dear husband. I rarely talk about him, but today is merited a mention of my partner for the past 11 years.
I’m a clutter bug. Seriously, I kind of like a little clutter-on my desk, at my craft table…I work best when my art supplies are sort of scattered all over my desk or on the floor.
If you talk to any knitter, crocheter, scrapbooker or crafter, they’ll tell you how much space all their crap takes up. I have known knitters that have whole closets just for their yarn. I of course, am no different. I like my supplies. My poor husband however, is quite the minimalist. The poor guy.
So one thing he’s always wanted to do is do a major purge: where we get rid of all our unwanted or unused items and donate them. I hate throwing things away. I really really do. I hate the idea of something ending up in a landfill. Growing up, my next door neighbor’s father was a garbage man, and I remember her telling me all the amazing things that her father would find in the garbage! Gumball machines, all the latest toys and stuffies….I was amazed, and thought it was so exciting that someone could work at a job like that, getting things for free. I also couldn’t believe that people throw things away quite so much!
I’ve always been environmentally friendly. Ask any environmentalist if they like to throw things away, and they will say no.
But this weekend it was about purging. I had to purge because I love my husband, and I want him to feel comfortable in our home. Also, the feng shui thing. I mean, it can’t be very good luck to have crap cluttering your apartment.
What’s my point? My point is mental peace comes from a clean home, a home that you feel comfortable living in. How can you have inner peace, with your home in disaray, or your relationship in the fritz? So I chose to make him happy and de clutter. Actually, I should mention, that I’m having a Swap O Rama this thursday with my group, the NYC Craft Circle.
I remember my father telling me about love-he told me that love…means acting for a person. It’s not just a feeling. Because I love my husband and my daughter, I do things for them that please them, I act in a way to protect and nurture them, because that is love. Love is acting with compassion for someone.
So I find inner peace when my home is clean, when cookies are in the oven, fried chicken in the skillet, and art at my workspace. Of course, we sometimes block these things, don’t we? When this happens, we should ask ourselves why. Listen to the still small voice inside you.

In other news, I made my first Christmas present of 2009 today! YES! I can’t tell you who it’s for. It’s a knitted cowl. Like it? I’m going to type up the pattern tomorrow. It’s not finished yet, I still have to make a pretty flower to adorn it.

The Craftaholic

