Day 33: Halloween Photo Album

by thecraftaholic



Quote:

“As long as we live in this world we are bound to encounter problems. If, at such times, we lose hope and become discouraged, we diminish our ability to face difficulties. If, on the other hand, we remember that it is not just ourselves but everyone who has to undergo suffering, this more realistic perspective will increase our determination and capacity to overcome troubles. Indeed, with this attitude, each new obstacle can be seen as yet another valuable opportunity to improve our mind! Thus we can strive gradually to become more compassionate, that is we can develop both genuine sympathy for others’ suffering and the will to help remove their pain. As a result, our own serenity and inner strength will increase.”

My thoughts:

Again, another quote that says it all for me. I think that we go through our trails in life, and we get this…self centered thing about us. I do, anyway. I mean, the truth is we all go through stuff.
We all get rejected sometimes, and we all cry…sometimes.
I tell my daughter it’s okay to cry. And then I tell her not to sometimes. Why do I do this? Probably because I couldn’t be bothered with a temper tantrum, so I just gently tell her she doesn’t need to cry, she can talk to me using her words, instead of crying. It works. Sometimes.
In the craft world, I sometimes gripe about how much cool happenings there might be across the pond, or across the other side of the country. But then when I tweet about it, or post it on facebook, I get like at least 4 replies of people that feel the same way! So I am not alone. None of us are.
When I feel this way, I know that I have a few choice people that I can count on to be there with me, and listen to me. Growing up in the church, I thought that everyone around me could be a person to confide in, or to talk to. The real world however, is not so. Not everyone is willing to listen to your crap. Not everyone wants to know how annoyed you are, or how badly you feel. Sure, there are some choice people who are gluttons for punishment, and perhaps a few that will listen and show compassion. But in reality, we must look at the constants in our life. Who is a constant in my life? That’s what we need to think about. Focus on the constants in your life. Focus on the things you love and the people you love, and as you do this, you will find yourself opening doors to your life, and your happiness.
Remember that love is an action, not just a four letter word.

So for today’s fun project, I have a Halloween photo album that I made for my daughter. This year, I plan on taking lots and lots of pictures. So I made this cute album, from a really gross children’s chipboard book about bugs. It’s gross, the first page was about cockroaches. Yuck. If I want to know more about cockroaches, I’ll just leave the leftovers out, uncovered. Thanks.
So I covered it up with pretty papers and stickers, and left room for pics. I also plan on saving little papers and bits of things to add to the album. Like it? I hope you do.

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop here and here

