Day 31: The Mermaid Queen Shadow Box

by thecraftaholic


Here’s a closer look at the Mermaid. I hand glittered the flower petals.

Quote:

“The more we care for the happiness of others, the greater our own sense of well-being becomes. Cultivating a close, warm,hearted feeling for others automatically puts the mind at ease. This helps remove whatever fears or insecurities we may have and gives us the strength to cope with any obstacles we encounter. It is the ultimate source of success in life.”

My Thoughts:

First I should start out by saying that today marks 31 days of my crafting for Nirvana. That to me, is an official month.
What have I learned? Well, I’ve learned that true compassion is the way to achieve peace. When I show compassion, when I care, that’s when things happen. That’s when peace comes, when success is achieved.
I’ve learned that we open our own doors to of opportunity, that we create our freedom, or our own hell.
It’s a lot to learn in just a short month, eh?
I’ve also learned that I truly am a Craftaholic. It started as a cool sounding name, but in reality, I am happiest in few places: at my craft table, in the kitchen cooking or baking, or with my husband and daughter, out and about around the city.
Thus is my name, The Craftaholic. It’s an addiction. I love to create, but I want to create things that mean something, not just items that I copy from a book, you know?
That being said, I’ve finished the shadow box! It’s called the Mermaid Queen. I know I mentioned something about cupcakes, but meh. It didn’t really work with my subject.
I made the box from an empty shoe box of my daughter’s. I cut the lid off (which I plan on using for something else), painted it, covered the inside with pretty papers, ribbons, glitter and buttons, and used some cotton for clouds. The Moon is a pendant that I never wear. It’s made of real Tiger Eye.
The Mermaid inside is from a spare set of tarot cards that I have a set of already. I use this set for paper crafts and such. She was originally the something of Cups. The Queen or something. I can’t remember.
I kind of like this one. Do you? What do you think of it?

The Craftaholic
CHeck out my Etsy shop here and here!

