Day 30: Another Scarf

by thecraftaholic



Quote:

“Of course, it is natural and right that we all want friends. I often joke that if you really want to be selfish, you should be very altruistic! You should take good care of others, be concerned for their welfare, help them, serve them, make more friends, make more smiles. The result? When you yourself need help, you find plenty of helpers! If, on the other hand, you neglect the happiness of others, in the long term you will be the loser. And is friendship produced through quarrels and anger, jealousy and intense competitiveness? I do not think so. Only affection brings us genuine close friends.”

My thoughts

Wow, I’ve really been on a rampage about this friendship thing. It’s just an interesting subject for me to talk about. I find people to be very strange and interesting. I like to study people, you know?
I think the search for a true friend can be a difficult one. I’m not a person to surround myself with fake friends, or call you a friend, if I’m not prepared to help you in the middle of the night, if god forbid something terrible happen to you. I was taught that a real friend does this. But we are what we are taught, aren’t we?
So I’m keeping with my thought from yesterday, and going to teach my daughter what it is to truly be a friend to someone. Be compassionate, and tolerant. Not everyone is going to like you, or be like you. A friend needn’t be someone that is just like you. Just someone who looks for you. And listens to you. And laughs with you.
As a mother, I want to make sure I teach my daughter, the things that I had to learn the hard way: that it really is a jungle out there. There is good and bad everywhere, and it is up to the individual to listen to their inner self, to decide what is good for you and what is not.
I think that when we start to decide to be compassionate to others, we in turn find the true friends in our lives.
This is the step where I’m at right now: trying to show compassion to others.
In the craft world, and in art, we can show compassion by not being craft snobs. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: no one likes a craft snob. It’s rude and annoying. If I want to knit with cheap, nasty yarn, I’ll do it. And if I want to make cards with generic brand stamps and construction paper, then I’ll do that too.
In the words of Bobby Brown: “It’s my prerogative”. So we must learn tolerance and compassion. They go together, if you want a true friend, and a lasting relationship of any kind.
Haha, now you’re going to have that song stuck in your head ALL day long. Actually, I’ll go a little further and post the You Tube Video, just because I care.
The beginning has a funny little interview, but you know, I just scroll ahead.

Really, this song should just be my anthem.
So for today’s crafty project, I’ve made a scarf for the homeless, in my project, to make scarves for the homeless. This will be scarf #2.
I’m hoping to dig through my yarn stash, and just make more. This one is just a simple stockinette stitch, for which I casted on about 10 stitches on some huge needles.
Nice, eh? Again, you all are welcome to donate yarn, or scarves to my cause. December 24 or on New Year’s Day, I’ll go around the city and just randomly hand them out to homeless people. I’ll be taping the whole thing, and I’ll have pictures too.

Oh! You’re wondering about the Mermaid shrine I talked about yesterday, right? Well I’m working on it. It’ll be done soon.

