Day 29: Hand Bound Dream Journal

by thecraftaholic



Quote:

These are times of fast foods but slow digestion; Tall man but short character; Steep profits but shallow relationships. It’s a time when there is much in the window, but nothing in the room.”

My thoughts:

Hmm….I think that it’s true, that we have such shallow relationships. I am just now discovering that. You know, I never really had a problem with friendships or anything, until I moved to New York City. Well, it’s not so much that I have problems with it, as much as that some “friendships” to me are quite unsatisfying. I love the feeling of being able to just be myself around someone.
I just hate having the feeling that someone is judging me, or thinking things about me, based on what I tell them. Some people are like that-shallow people, and insecure people.
In art, it still overlaps. Why? Because crafters are people. Not everyone has the un-judging free thinking mind of the artist, the person who is a little eccentric and brilliant genius all at the same time. So this is when we must exersize compassion.
When we seek out friendships, we should first realize that not everyone seeks the same things in a person. Also, remember that it is just a friendship, not a marriage. I tell this to some good friends of mine. Sometimes people take friendships to a complicated level. It should be fun, not complicated. It’s a friendship. You don’t have to live with me. Just listen to me. Right?
So let’s listen and not be judgemental. As crafters, artisans, and friends.
Today’s project is a journal I made. I am trying to get better at the coptic stitch. This is a hand bound journal.
I used some heavy duty card stock for the cover, and then covered and embellished it with some pretty paper, and things.
It’s for sale in my shop.
It’s meant to be a journal that inspires your, and makes you want to dream, and envision what you see for your future.
I hope you like today’s project.
I have a work in progress-it’s a shadow box, that will be Victorian inspired, and entitled, “The Mermaid Queen of Cupcakes”.
I’m so excited. I’ll be working on it today, into the night. I hope to finish it today, and share it with you all tomorrow. We’ll see though.

The Craftaholic

