Day 27: Collaged & Painted Bracelets with Bling

by thecraftaholic


Here’s my friend Yoshi, getting down and crafty!


Our messy floor. The floor is the best place to work, really.


Of course, kiddies are always getting crafty at my place.

Here’s my finished bracelets. I made a total of three. One of them, the one in the center, is collaged. I finished it off with some spray varnish.
The other two are painted with poster paint. Then I went over it with a coat of acrylic gloss medium mixed with pearl ex powder. Then the bling is from the Martha Stewart collection of craft supplies.
Cute, right?

So, onto the regular business…

Quote:

“We are visitors on this planet. We are here for ninety or one hundred years at the very most. During that period, we must try to do something good, something useful, with our lives. If you contribute to other people’s happiness, you will find the true goal, the true meaning of life.”

Today after a conversation with my friend Yoshi, I realized that people do indeed come and go. It’s tough at times to find someone who will be around for a longer period of time.
The thing is, it’s important to not be self centered, and not think that life is just about our selfish need to inflate our ego. Life is about making the world around us even better.
I’m at the point in my life where I just want to inspire you all to create things that are meaningful. I’m not just talking about cupcakes and cute things, although that is nice. I’m talking about making cupcakes that mean something to you. What does the cupcake remind you of?
What does the owl remind you of, or fairies, or the ocean? That’s what I do. That’s how I use imagery in my crafting.
So that’s what my purpose is in life; that and being a good wife and mom. Cheesy, but that’s the way it is.
I think that happiness comes not from seeking to make ourselves feel better, or inflate our ego. Happiness comes from compassion, and looking out for others, and ACCEPTING people. Acceptance of others. That’s what we need to think about, folks.
Right?

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop here and here!

