My Quest for Nirvana: Day 14-The Lotus Journal

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“As people alive today, we must consider future generations: a clean environment is a human right like any other. It is therefore part of our responsibility toward others to ensure that the world we pass on is as healthy, if not healthier, than we found it.”

My Thoughts:

So it’s been two weeks since I’ve started this challenge to myself: to read the teachings of the Dalai Lama, and apply them to my life and my art.
So far, it’s been an amazing two weeks! I can say that I’ve learned a lot about myself in such a short time. I feel like I’m finally coming into myself, you know?
I am going to start painting again! I haven’t painted on canvas in like 5 years or something. I’m so excited. Also, I started a paper mache project-a trinket box I’m making. You’ll see it soon enough.
So on to today’s thought. I think that we often forget what immense responsibility we have to keep the earth clean for our future children. I mean, I guess it’s not something that I readily think about 24 hours a day.
I’m a mom and a crafter/artist…so I think about that throughout my day. I’ve told myself that I want to be more in tune with the environment, and so I want to try to meld my life with the concern for the earth. I’m not the type to become a fanatic about any one thing, but I do try to waste less, recycle, and use recycled paper. That’s helpful.
Leaving behind a healthy earth can mean making a change within yourself in the way you respond to things, so that when you are gone, you’ve made an impact in the world around you. You take take this any way you wish: literally or figuratively. I choose to do both. There is no turning back for me now. I really want to set an example for my daughter of what a woman can accomplish, no matter what your struggle may be.
So for today’s project, I made these cute little journals. I attended a “Be Wild” Garden Party where I taught folks how to make a simple 20 page journal.
Here’s some pics of the project I made, and of the event.
I should add that I learned one thing in particular: It is more fun to work with glitter in a garden setting.

Beautiful, right? The lotus is a brand new stamp that my husband and I came up with. It goes so nicely with the Buddha Stamp we have, that this one may go up for sale soon.

The peace sign also is a stamp! I went over it with glitter.
Here’s a couple pics of work in action:

And our lovely table, full of yummy glitter and wondrous art supplies

So that’s all for now. I know I haven’t done a round up in a while, I have been lacking inspiration for one!
But I’m going to do a proper Halloween roundup this week. That’s all for today folks.

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop here and here!

