My Quest for Nirvana: Day 13-Scarves for the Homeless

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“The creatures that inhabit this earth-be they human beings or animals-are here to contribute, each in its own particular way, to the beauty and prosperity of the world.”

My Thoughts:

We’re here to make some sort of a difference in life, that’s what I think. I feel that we are put on this earth to contribute to something greater than our little ordinary life. I really do.
I think that we are all put on the earth with a gift. And with this gift comes the responsibility of using it for a greater purpose.
I’m reminded of my friend Lisa T. You know, I’ve known her for close to 10 years, and I’ve never known her to not offer me a plate of whatever she’s making. Lisa loves to cook. She comes from Massachusetts just like Julia Child. And in the same spirit, when you go to her home, she invites you with all sorts of home made deliciousness she’s prepared. She uses her talent in the kitchen in the form of hospitality. It’s nice, you know?
It’s nice to be that way; to just do something because you love to do it, not because you expect anything in return.
For me, I started the NYC Craft Circle for this same reason. I started this group about a year or so ago, because I wanted to inspire other people to create simple things that mean alot; I wanted to inspire others to create. It’s been slow going, as any venture is, but I think I’ve been priviledged to meet the very cool people that I have met along the way. But I don’t run the group as a business. I just like to meet people and inspire people to create.
My art and my crafting endeavors are what saved me from insanity, truly. I’ve gone through quite a bit in my 32 years of life. My art and my faith in myself is what saved me. So I have this group because I know there are others out there who live just as I once did. So I want to teach them to save themselves through art.
Also, I am totally serious about making scarves for the homeless! Who’s with me? I’m going to crocheting a whole bunch of scarves and hats and on (tentatively) Christmas Eve, I’ll go to the streets and hand them out.
I will take donations in the form of yarn and knitted or crocheted hats and scarves. If I don’t have enough by Xmas Eve, I’ll do it on New Years Day.
I hope that I will not be alone and that some of you NYC readers out there will join me on my quest.
For my art project today, I have to things. One is a Collaged Inspiration Book that I made from my daughter’s negleted book. She loves books, but not this one. So I swiped it. It’s a book that’s meant to inspire me when I’m feeling a lack of creativity.
That and a recipe for banana waffles, because I love to cook. I made the most amazing banana waffles in my nice belgian waffle maker this morning. When my husband is working on a Saturday, I cheer myself up by making “fancy waffles”. Fancy meaning it’s got something in them. He likes them Plain. I mean, plain. No cinnamon. No Nutmeg. So I party while he’s gone by making me some banana waffles.



Messy floor, because art is more fun that way.

Banana Waffles

Mix together

2 egg yolks
1 3/4 Cups milk
1/2 cup olive oil
then add 1 3/4 cups flour
1 tablespoon Baking Powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 over ripe mashed banana
1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix these together then add 1 cup of sugar. Or to taste, but I like it sweet.

then in a separate bowl, beat the egg whites till stiff peas form. Gently fold beaten egg whites into the batter. Don’t over mix.

Then just pour into your waffle maker, according to the manufacturer’s directions.

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop here and here!

