My Quest for Nirvana: Day 11-The Mystery Yarn Cowl

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“Just as we should cultivate gentle and peaceful relations with our fellow human beings, we should also extend that same kind of attitude towards the natural environment. Morally speaking, we should be concerned for our whole environment.”

My Thoughts:
What makes us argue back with a person? Have you thought about that? I don’t know why. I can be a pretty argumentative person when I want to be. But why?
In the craft world, I’ve encountered just as much cattiness as anywhere else, if not more. Again I ask you, why is this?
When I started to look for artistic and creative people, I frankly had the idea that the people I’d meet, would be earthy, non judgemental, and accepting of people from all walks of life. I know that I try to be that way. So I was shocked when I entered a world where I saw people judging other people’s art and excluding other artists from meetup groups.
I’m reminded of when my husband and I would march in Washington DC some years back. I would always hear the chanting, “A people united can never be defeated!”
Lesson Learned:
As artists and crafters we try so hard to convince the modern world to switch to handmade. We have websites and post blogs about it…but are we really changing anything if we chose to emulate the actions of a high school child?
Let us realize that we are not high school anymore, but grown adults with lives and challenges. Let’s not exclude people, or form silly cliques. Instead, let’s move toward peace and togetherness. Although I do not subscribe to any one religion, I do remember Jesus telling the (I think) Pharisees, “Let him who is without sin, cast the first stone”.
So if you’re perfect, then you totally have every right to form your own clique and kick people out of groups, and divide yourself from others. Of course, no one is perfect, so you’ll be pretty lonley.
For today’s project, I knitted up a very Fall inspired cowl. Yes, another cowl. You know, I love a good cowl. It’s easy and quick to knit or crochet, and truly, a nice cowl is so fashion forward, I think.
So here it is. The yarn of course, I will call “Mystery Yarn” since the label was removed, and I have no idea who makes it.
So it’s the Mystery Yarn Cowl.
Hope you like it.

Bad pictures I know. But it’s a super cute cowl! You can stretch it out too, a bit.

The pattern, you ask? There is none, it’s just a simple stockinette stitch. I casted on as many stitches as would fit around my head nicely. Then I crocheted it closed.
Hope you like it!

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop here and here!

