My Quest for Nirvana: Day 10-A Simple Flower

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“As people alive today, we must consider future generations: a clean environment is a human right like any other. It is therefore part of our responsibility toward others to ensure that the world we pass on is as healthy, if not healthier, than we found it.”

My Thoughts:

Taking care of the environment. Wow. Who would think that it was a spiritual thing, to be good to the environment?
Hmm…
Well, growing up I was really close to my grandmother Adela, who was more of a second mother to me. She taught me how to cook, clean, and gave me lots of advice on men, being a good wife, etc. One of the things that she passed down to me, was a love of vintage. Growing up in the suburbs of New Jersey, it was customary for us to go on a lovely saturday mornings to yard sales and estate sales. My grandmother loved them. I remember that it was hard to stop at the end of a hot afternoon.
Buying vintage is a cool way to be environmentally friendly.
Lesson Learned:
My grandmother taught me to not waste, and that’s what being environmentally friendly is about.
We can pass this along with crafting, for sure!
Today’s craft project is an item I made while laying on the bed watching WE tv.

It’s a crocheted flower! It’ll go for sale, perhaps.
Also, if you want to be an eco friendly crafter, try getting into paper mache, or making handmade paper! Also, you can frog some old thrift shop sweaters, and make a new scarf or wrap from them!
Just remember: waste less. That’s the key.

