My Quest for Nirvana: Day 9-The Charm Bracelet

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion.”

My Thoughts:

I took the day to really think about this one. I mean, it seems simple enough. But really, think about it.
I’ve mentioned it before…we all go through stuff. We all struggle. It’s part of being human, and being flawed I think.
Today I went to the doctor with my daughter (for her checkup), and I started thinking about a lost friendship, and frankly…it made me sad. I then thought of this exact quote, and decided to respond with compassion and with love. I just channelled those thoughts onto what I could change. I can’t change people’s response to myself, but I can change how I respond to things.
I think that’s what this quote is about.
The thing is, how can we relate this to our art and crafting?
Simple: let’s not be craft snobs, eh folks? It’s really annoying to walk into a yarn shop when you can tell they are sizing you up, and you walk out wondering who would spend $100 on a skein of designer yarn.
Lesson Learned:
I guess compassion means acting with kindness beyond yourself. I think it means that. To go beyond yourself in an attitude of love and peace.
So for today’s project I am posting a few pictures of a charm bracelet I made! I bought the craft chica’s charm bracelet kit, and also used some charms and things that I had in my stash. I am rather please with how it turned out! It is nice and bulky and super cool looking.

Like it?

I used some of the charms and beads in the kit, and also used my own. I had some hand made glass beads from Everlasting Glass, and some charms I received in a swap.


I used the Crafty Chica’s Mermaid because I love Mermaids.

The little Buddha is also from my stash. I got him on etsy, can’t remember the seller, sorry! The Ganesh bead is from a set of charms that I got from a swap. I love Hindu gods; I collect religious figures.

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop here and here!

