My Quest for Nirvana: Day 6- The Purple Cowl

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

Under the bright sun, many of us are gathered together with different languages, different styles of dress, even different faiths. However, all of us are the same in being humans, and we all uniquely have the thought of “I,” and we´re all the same in wanting happiness and in wanting to avoid suffering.

My Thoughts:

I picked this quote on purpose, to teach myself a lesson. I live in New York, as you all know. New York City, although supplying an artist with absolutely everything you could want and more, does not really allow for selflessness. I mean we just get so caught up in everything, don’t we?
If you live in or near a city, go there, and just observe people. Everyone, even the homeless ones, are busy running to and fro, focused on themselves. We are all like this. Only the tourists on vacation take the time to notice the things we take for granted.
Lesson Learned:
Today I was at the upper west side (my favorite place to be in Manhattan), and I thought about how fabulous it would be to live there. But then it occurred to me…I wouldn’t see the beauty anymore, because I’d be so focused on the crappy train service, the high rent…
This is of course, because of our frame of mind. If we have a negative way of seeing things, then our world becomes negative.
The Buddha teaches that we are what we think. But is the world what we think of it?
I don’t really know where I’m going with this. I do know that we are all unique but we are all the same.
And I do know that it is easier to live with others when we are not conscious of social or economic classes, when we are just who we are. But who are you, really? That’s the real question. It’s for you to decide. But before we judge a book by it’s cover, perhaps we should look at ourselves first. Sometimes the flaws we see in others, are the flaws we see in ourselves.
So for today’s project, I’m posting a wonderful purple cowl that I made on the subway today. You can thank the lovely MTA for doing construction work on the 1 line, which is why I was able to finish the cowl on the way up to the Upper West Side. Another thanks should go to my living so friggin’ far away Gravesend brooklyn. Manhattanites are afraid to wander out to the bogs of Gravesend Brooklyn.
The cowl is done in crochet, with a lovely purple wool yarn that I received in a craft swap.
Like it? It’s going for sale in the shop soon.
I’d love to say that it has some deep philosophical meaning behind it, but alas, it was just sheer boredom, and my love for the color purple. Purple symbolizes strength and intuition. So yes. I love it so.
Again, sorry for the crappy picture.

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop here and here!

