My Quest for Nirvana: Day 7-Newbies & A Captured Fairy

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

Each of us in our own way can try to spread compassion into people’s hearts. Western civilizations these days place great importance on filling the human “brain” with knowledge, but no one seems to care about filling the human “heart” with compassion.

My Thoughts:
Interesting sentiment, but what is compassion, really? In the dictionary it’s defined as ” a feeling of deep sympathy and sorrow for another who is stricken by misfortune, accompanied by a strong desire to alleviate the suffering.”
Hmm..compassion…
Is it enough to have sympathy? Is that what compassion is? I don’t know. I kind of disagree with the definition. I think compassion isn’t just a feeling it’s an act. Love too, is an act. It’s an action, not just a feeling.
Lesson Learned:
As crafters, we get to a point in our art or craft where we become pretty darn good at what we do. Weather it be as a knitter, stamper, card maker, or all around crafter, practice really does make one’s craft perfect.
I’m reminded of times when I’ve been in one of my (now closed) but favorite knitting shops, The Point. I will have just been sitting down, knitting or crocheting, just doing my thing. Then a “newbie” walks in and asks weather or not the yarn is in front when you purl. It’s funny to see the reactions of the other knitters or “hookers” in the store. Some will shout out the right answer in a rather matter of fact way. Others will just roll there eyes, or shake there heads and continue knitting.
Then there is the person who practices compassion by actually showing Ms. Newbie what she must do to learn the purl stitch.
Maybe this is what compassion is then, hmm? While it’s nice to feel good about ourselves, and take pride in our knowledge of our craft, it’s also good to remember that we were once a newbie, and needed someone to guide us along the way.
So for my craft project today, I actually have non crappy pictures. I made a fairy (of sorts) in a jar. I have these tiny jars I bought on impulse (at wholesale, so I bought a bunch). I also had an extra set of tarot cards that I have set aside just for my craft endeavors. I already have the same set, and recieved an extra in a swap. Normally, it’s considered bad luck to destroy a tarot deck, but I don’t think I’m destroying it so much as I am making a cool craft project with it.
I stuffed the inside with butterfly cutouts, fancy papers, and a bit of glitter inside.
In the tarot, the High Priestess stands for the Unconcious.
I got the following definition online:
“The High Priestess is the guardian of the unconscious. She sits in front of the thin veil of unawareness which is all that separates us from our inner landscape. She contains within herself the secrets of these realms and offers us the silent invitation, “Be still and know that I am God.”
In readings, the High Priestess poses a challenge to you to go deeper – to look beyond the obvious, surface situation to what is hidden and obscure. She also asks you to recall the vastness of your potential and to remember the unlimited possibilities you hold within yourself. The High Priestess can represent a time of waiting and allowing. It is not always necessary to act to achieve your goals. Sometimes they can be realized through a stillness that gives desire a chance to flower within the fullness of time. “
It doesn’t really match with what I’m talking about today, but there you have it.
But then….maybe it does, eh? I mean….The High Priestess stands for asking yourself to go deeper. You can go deeper by being still and by practicing compassion. Perhaps by remembering what you wanted as a newbie crafter, and provide that for someone. By teaching someone, we teach ourselves. I’m reminded of how growing up, my mother, the teacher, always had lesson plans or something or other related to her class. So if she had to teach about an american author, and hadn’t read his/her work (being that my mother was born and raised in another country), then she had to actually read their work, and go through it with the students. So perhaps this is what is needed in practicing compassion with the sometimes annoying, always questioning newbie crafter. Right?

Now for the pictures:

Ps. I’m so ready for Halloween! Finally! Are you?

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop here and here!

