My Quest for Nirvana: Day 3-The Peace Fairy

by thecraftaholic

Quote:

“We can never obtain peace in the outer world until we make peace with ourselves.“

My Thoughts:
Well here’s a kicker. The thing is, I’ve been in a major creative block, beleive it or not. It’s really major.
But this quote makes me wonder if the search for peace is also the search for happiness. Is it? When I seek happiness am I actually seeking peace? I think that in order to have happiness, we need to have peace, and vise versa.
For so long, for so many years, I just sought happiness and peace…not truly knowing what I was seeking. I was kind of a troubled kid, you know? I mean, I didn’t do anything out of the ordinary, that most teenagers don’t do. But still. I tried to find them, and didn’t know how. I thoguht that being religious would magically give me peace. But the thing is, happiness isn’t about making your problems disappear. And peace isn’t about that either. Peace doesn’t happen because you magically forget your responsibilities to your children, family, or job. Peace happens when you deal with the why of things. When you deal with the why of your actions, and purge yourself of the destructive habits. Then peace comes, then happiness comes. I guess that yeah, they do go hand in hand. You can’t have one without the other. You can’t seek one without the other. But I think that peace must come first. First the peace with yourself, then the peace with the world, then happiness finds you.
In the world of crafting, we are never satisfied, are we? We are always seeking out new things to try, a new technique, a new idea…
The biggest problem that I think alot of artists and crafters have is the inner critic. Your inner critic can be a problem both in your life emotionally, and in your life as an artist.
Lesson Learned:
I’m reminded now of a quote by Vincent Van Gogh, one of my favorite artists:
“If you hear a voice within you say “you cannot paint,” then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.
So this is what we must do as artists and crafters! Silence that inner critic and find peace with your creative energy. Just let it flow naturally, and don’t put rules on yourself, or on what you are creating. Don’t judge yourself according to some other artist or etsy shop, or what have you. I like to think about it this way: I am the one that exists in my world. That other shop, that other seller isn’t important. Only what I create, and what I am proud of is what matters. It’s a rather selfish way of seeing things, but it helps me to silence the inner critic, when I see another shop with more sales than mine. I’m not making art to compete with someone else, or to be the best in the world, I just want to be the best for me. This is the path to peace with yourself as an artist and crafter, I think. At least for me it is.
So for today’s project, I made the following collage piece.
It’s an altered envelope, actually, but I failed to leave space for an address (woops!). I still love it though. It’s the second in a series of paper dolls I’ve been creating lately. She’s a fairy, actually. Her name is Petula and she’s a peace fairy.

Like it? I hope you do!

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop here and here!

