My Quest for Nirvana: Day 2-knitting and knitting and knitting…

by thecraftaholic

Quote for today:

“I believe that the very purpose of our life is to seek happiness. That is clear. Whether one believes in religion or not, whether one believes in this religion or that religion, we all are seeking something better in life. So, I think, the very motion of our life is towards happiness…”

My thoughts:
What does it mean to seek happiness, and do we ever really know if we are happy? Often we complain about how our life could be better, about how we wish things could be…if not we are criticizing ourselves for making foolish mistakes as teens and young adults.
Within the art world, as a crafter and budding entrepreneur, I often get caught up with trying to please other people: making and creating the things that other people love, things that sell. But then I get so caught up with that idea, that I lose the happiness in making something for a person.
I decided that I’m going to be creating things that I love and that make me happy. Not because I’m some egotiscial person, but because my brand of crafting, is sort of a journey into myself. You know what I mean? When I’m knitting, or book binding, I’m often thinking of some philosophical teaching I’ve read, or thinking about how to shed one bad habit or other. I’m quite a philosophical person though.
On my bookshelf, there are books written by J. Krishnamurti, Gandi, Allen Ginsberg, and other famous philosophical people.
I think it was Jim Morrison who said that Sagitarians (that would be me) are the most philosophical of all the signs. I can see that for sure, since as I stated before, I am quite philosophical.
It’s more that I love to think. I do. I love to think about the why of things. I’ve always been that way. In fact, when I was a little girl, I would always go against the grain, defending those that my bigot father would bad mouth.
So, what was I talking about? Oh yeah. Happiness. The searching of it.
In the art world, and in crafting, I believe that the search for happiness comes with following your gut. It’s easy to find your happiness in art. Just do the thing that comes easy to you, the thing that makes you happy.
But…what if it makes you happy, but it doesn’t come so easy? My answer? Just keep doing it until it does. Don’t worry, soon enough you’ll be doing it blind folded.
As a lefty, it was quite hard for me to learn to knit! I have a good friend, Bliss Blood, who taught me to knit and crochet, but I just couldn’t get the $%^& purl stitch! So she lent me a video she had on how to knit. It was a really old school video from the eighties, taught by an English woman.
At any rate, my niece had come to visit me, and I was determined to learn! So I pressed rewind and play until I got the hang of it!
And now? Now I can knit, purl, decrease and knit two together like the best of them!
Lesson learned: Happiness is something you sometimes forget you have. It’s right there. In art and in the craft world, it’s about doing what you love, not what sells. The happiness comes in melding the two together (for me, anyway).
So my project for today (I have to admit, I cheated a little bit and started last night), is a knitted scarf I’m working on. It’s a pretty knitted lace fabric that will be blocked, and I’ll be adding fringe to it. I hope to finish it tonight. But here’s the work in progress.

I promise, it will look lacey once I’ve blocked it. Of course…I’ve never blocked before!
Anyone got any tips for me?

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop here and here!

