My Quest for Nirvana

by thecraftaholic

I started making art and working with paper and such, some time ago, around the time I met my husband. I had a hard time growing up; things don’t always work out as they seem. I started writing, because somehow I always knew I’m a writer. I just knew. And so, I began writing poetry, and keeping a journal about my life, and moods and such.
It started me on a long journey of self expression and self examination. I love writing, and love to be creative.
As years went on, I experimented with other forms of self expression, such as needlepoint, baking, and collage work. At this point, I met my husband.
When I met my husband, I knew that he was meant to be mine. I mean, I knew that I would marry him, from the first conversation I ever had with him. His eyes, his smile….he charmed me. He attended the “Fame” school, and is an amazing artist himself. So I wanted that. I have always wanted to say that I can paint amazing pictures like the ones I see in my mind. Amazing, how that would be. Years went by, and I realized I paint pictures in MY way. In my own unique manner, I do paint pictures. Through my collage work and my poetry, I paint pictures. So for this I am grateful.
I started a few years ago, a spiritual quest to find my own version of Nirvana. Through symbolism and creativity, I find myself melding my spiritual quest and my superstitions with my craft quite a bit.
Most of my projects are inspired by my belief in fairies, or my superstitious belief in cats being lucky.
My mother always taught me not to look up to people. So there are very few people that I can say I look up to in any way. But one person I look up to is the Dalai Lama.
So here’s a challenge I’ve put up for myself. I’m not just going to make an art project each day, I’m going to make a project that highlights a quote or teaching his holiness the Dalai Lama. Each day, along with my regular round ups, and artist spotlights, I’ll be also blogging about my quest. I hope that in a year’s time, I will at least have really learned and applied something to my life.
So I’ll pick a quote, and a project, and blog about it. It’ll be separate, and I’ll title it: My Quest for Nirvana-Day X
So by next year, on this date, I will hope to at least have journied with you, on my road to Nirvana.
This is my mission and I choose to accept it.

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop here and here!

