My Quest for Nirvana: Day 1

by thecraftaholic

Quote for the day:
“To conquer oneself is a greater victory than to conquer thousands in a battle.”

My thoughts:

Wow, this quote packs alot of philosophy into just a simple sentence! Where do I even begin?
Well, the first thing that I think about is how this reminds me of when we have a creative block. It’s like you have to move past yourself, in a way.
I’ve been going through a major creative block lately. I don’t know how or when it started, but it’s frustrating for me, because I come up with idea after idea, and just….eh. I don’t know. No motivation, I guess.
So I have to move past myself and conquer myself, in order to move past this block.
Some people say that you have to do lots of self examination, and force yourself to figure out why you are blocked, a process that sometimes brings up issues from the past.
Not all of us want to deal with the past, and some of us have worked through our issues. The act of creativity should be fun, not work. You should look forward to your creative process. It should never be work. Then it would not be creativity. It would be work.
So here’s what I do, do move past the creative blocks. I do things that do not require much thought of design. Such as knitting or crocheting from a pattern. Or just binding a book, without idea of the cover design. Or I do some printed cards. These things, while allowing me to be creative, don’t need me to think about the design. I just stamp the cards from the stamps my husband and I make together. And I knit or crochet from my own patterns or I’ll use a pattern.
Journaling helps too. If you keep a journal, you can try combating your writer’s block, by simply describing what you’ve done in the past few days, what you are grateful for in your life, what your biggest accomplishments are, describing your family members…
If you are a poet, try describing what’s around you. That helps me.
Little by little, as you continue this practice, you’ll see what blocks you, or what you tend to allow to block you, without any painful journey to the past. After all, the past is the past, and the future is now.
Being in a creative block can be frustrating. But if we move beyond ourselves, we find a place where we can create, no matter what.
Here’s the project I worked on today.

It’s a journal made from a CD case! It’s got 60 pages, and it’s hand bound. I have the elephant on the cover, because in India, elephants symbolize the highest true self. It stands for:
Ancient Power, Strength and Royalty,
Strength of the Feminine: The Child, the Woman,

and the Wise Woman (Matriarchal Head of Family).
I got the info on the elephant symbolism here.
So to me, it highlights and reminds me to work past the blockage in my life, and get to that orgasmic state that I get in when I am inspired and creating art. It’s a rush, isn’t it, when you feel the art and are oozing with inspiration! So the elephant is proper here, because he can give you the power and strength to move past the blockage and on to your true creative self.

In other news, Sweet Buddha Designs has been nominated in a contest by American Express!
All I need are 50 VOTES and I can be judged by people like Diane Von Fostenberg and Ellen Degeneres, which in itself would be a great honor. But I want to win!
Please vote for me, and allow me to go into the top stories! So please, vote for me! All of you!
You vote by clicking on the button that says “Endorse Here”, when you get to the site!
Click here to vote.

The Craftaholic
Check out my etsy shop here and here.

