It was down in Chinatown…

by thecraftaholic



The title is a line from an old Cab Calloway Song. I love Cab Calloway. I love old jazz from his era. Such happy music. It reminds me of my honeymoon.
A couple days ago was my wedding anniversary! Can you believe that my husband and I have been married for 6 years? Crazy, right?
If you would have told me 15 years ago, that I would meet my soul mate, marry him and have a child, I would have never believed you.
It’s amazing.

We went out to have dumplings at the most amazing dumpling place in Chinatown! I think it was called C&L Dumpling house. On Chrystie Street, in chinatown. I highly recommend it, the dumplings were awesome! Tasty, fresh and dirt cheap.

Life is so full of unexpected events. While I don’t know the secret to a happy marriage, I will say this: the best thing you can do for yourself is educate yourself, find your career, your calling in life, and then seek the person who shares your passion in life. True, passion does not bring everything. But it is the shared passions that you have together that will get you through during the times when marriages can get a bit stale, or stagnant. The one thing that always gets us through is our shared spirituality and our love of art. My husband and i both have that in common. I think it’s important to be with someone that shares your interests.
I also think it’s important to not give up. Love will see you through those hard times, so long as you do not give up. It’s easy to walk away; it’s easy to give up. Remind each other of what it was like when you first met. Remind each other through actions, not words.

The Craftaholic
Check out my shop here and here!

