Happiness is…

by thecraftaholic


What defines happiness? Is it society that tells us what we must do or become? Is it our parents that impose their beliefs on us?
Is it our addiction and behaviors?
We go on with our lives, in a zombie like state, lying to ourselves, telling ourselves that it matters, that pinching pennies matters, that accumulating things matters, that greed is good.
The wonderful thing about children is that they see the world how it should be, how we should all see the world.
The child I gave birth to, she sees the world every day for the first time. She is constantly fascinated by the most silly things. She is constantly learning. She loves, and shows it. She never, ever denies her feelings, or denies what she wants. She knows who she is.
My daughter. Who would ever think that I would look up to a 19 month old baby girl?
I do. I mean, it’s amazing. She really is infinitely who she is, and nothing more. What makes me think is, how is it possible that a child can grow up and then lose themselves as an adult? It’s as if by growing up, you end up losing yourself.
How can we then, find ourselves as grown adults? Do we convince ourselves that we have no responsibilities?
It is the responsibility of life that makes us lose ourself. But this doesn’t mean that we have to lose who we are. I think the answer is quite simple: don’t take it too seriously. That’s my answer. It seems simple. But really.
I think that we take life too seriously. Honestly, life is too short.
That’s just my opinion.
For me, I just try to create my art. Like this card I made recently. Like it?
It’s basic card stock, layered with handmade paper, a couple pieces of a page from a book, and a hand carved heart stamp my husband made for me.
And live my life to the fullest. I think this is the hardest thing for people. Often we think that living our life to the fullest means accomplishing unrealistic goals we set for ourselves. But that’s not what it means to life your life to the fullest. Living your life to the fullest is about enjoying every moment of your life, and not worrying about the bills, the rent, the this and the that…
I know that that I will always have what I need to meet my basic needs, and that of my family. And I can afford a couple extras once in a while. What more could I ask for? I’ve got a good life. I husband who washes dishes. A daughter who’s beautiful and healthy and happy. A mother in law who isn’t a possessive monster in law. I’m happy with my life. So what if I can’t afford my dream come true trip to India? I will go one day.
I try to be a good mother, and wife. I work towards my goals, and make my art; I keep my passion with art the Law of Attraction, and hope that one day I can be recognized for it.
Until next time, it’s the Craftaholic signing off…

