Project: Altered Picture Frames

by thecraftaholic


In the great holiday frenzy, I have found myself rushed to finish making gifts for everyone.
Some of you may know that I make all the gifts I give on Christmas, exept for a thing or two for the hubby and my little one.
Oh man, but I am running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off. I have so much to do, and so little time! I am poring myself into making art for loved ones.
Yesterday I went over to Target, to see about doing some Xmas shopping. I decided I was going to get everything on my list: T shirts, socks and thermals for the hubby (I already got him a silk screening kit), and a few toys for the little one. I ended up in the dollar section, which *ugh* is my weekness. I just can’t resist a bargain! I can’t! They had such cool things, I ended up stocking up on ink, stickers, and everything else I didn’t need.
I was actually really trying to focus on Xmas, since I didn’t have much time. Jose was watching the baby, and I didn’t have the entire day to just browse around in the stores. I went to target with a mission: finish Xmas shopping or else! So that is what i did.
Then, at the dollar section, I found these awesome wood frames for only $2! What a bargain. I decided I would buy them and alter them, then give them as a gift to my sister with a couple pics.
So, here’s a tutorial.

For this project, you’ll need:
A plain wooden frame
an unwanted book, or newspaper
white acrylic paint
clear varnish
decoupage
Stampin Up brand ultra fine glitter in blue
A decorative brad-I found these cute little beaded ones at Target.

So, the first thing to do, is to rip the book pages or newspaper pages up, and decoupage them onto the frame.
Cover the whole frame, going over the edges with decoupage.
Let it dry.
Mix a small squirt of white paint with a little water. about 2 tablespoons full.
Paint the frames. Bear in mind, that this should be a light wash. That’s why you watered down the paint.
Once the paint dries, go over it with a bit of varnish. Let that dry, then go over it again with varnish; this time, don’t let it dry. Just give it a light dusting of glitter.
Well, add as much glitter as you want, I guess. But this is for my plain jane sister, so I did a light dusting.
After that’s done drying, add a couple coats of varnish.
Then, dress it up with some pretty brads, or decorative chipboard!
And there you go, it’s done! A great gift for that special person in your life.

